Tex-Mex and Breakfast

Last night we went over the my aunts place for…

Tex-Mex night!

We brought over everything from avocados & guacamole to steak. All from Texas.

My job was to slice and peel the avocados.

And to make the salsa.

My uncle grilled the steaks on his charcoal grill.

While I snacked on some strawberries and melon (minus the prosciutto).

I’m not a melon fan, but this melon was different tasting. It was a lot crunchier than our standard melons and super juicy and sweet.  I didn’t know what it was at first because its an oval watermelon shape instead of the circular round melons I’m used to.

I heated up our flour, white corn, and yellow corn tortillas and we were ready to eat.

After dinner we had watermelon and black sesame dessert soup and I watched the movie ‘UP’ with my 3 year old cousin. Then 12:30am rolled around and I headed home to bed.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

This morning started off with a typical HK breakfast spread.

Soy Sauce Noodles

It comes in a baggie.

Congee

Which is a rice porraige that usually comes with your choice of some type of meat, fish, or seafood. My mom used to make this a lot when I was sick. It’s steaming hot and kind of like soup, but with rice.

Deep Fried Dough Sticks

These fried sticks are crispy on the outside and hollow on the inside. The one in the back is actually a little different. It’s a bit sweeter and kind of taste like a combination of a donut and bread. But it’s not dense. They’re typically eaten with the congee.

I guess I would say it’s like the chinese version of soup and bread.

Rice noodle rolls (on the right) and Fried dough sticks wrapped in the rice noodle rolls (on the left)

These are typically eaten with sweet soy sauce and/or a peanut sauce.

This was my pre-workout breakfast spread:

Rice noodle rolls, noodles, a slice of cinnamon raisin bread, and some green tea.

I think I may need to add some more color into my meals. I’ll try at lunch 🙂

Now I’m of to get in a quick workout!


7 Comments on “Tex-Mex and Breakfast”

  1. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Seems like you are having a great time 🙂 Black sesame dessert soups sounds really interesting! When I was younger I used to eat Congee a lot, my mom made quite a tasty Czech variation on it 🙂

  2. Cait's Plate says:

    Oh my gosh – all this food looks awesome. I want to eat it right now 🙂 Hope you enjoyed your workout!

  3. Avocados and salsa? Yesssss please. I love Mexican cuisine, and I think it’s mostly for the salsa, guacamole, and tortilla chips 😀 All your eats are looking super tasty, but I’m not sure if I’d be able to eat a breakfast spread like that… My day has to start out on a sweet note, or I feel a little wonky 😆

    • kris says:

      We forgot the tortilla chips!! haha
      I prefer sweet breakfasts too so when I have savory breakfasts, I try to finish it with a sweet note or else I crave sweets ALL day long. Not that I don’t already crave sweets all day anyways…hehe

  4. Mmm, those fried dough sticks sound amazing! How bad is it that I’m picturing them dipped in Nutella? Haha


Leave a comment