Steamed Dinner

Ahhhhh…

That’s me breathing out a sign of relief.

I’m finally caught up (for the most part) with my summer school assignments and can relax a bit for a day or two πŸ™‚

I spent the majority of yesterday working on a project and an assignment, which I completed a little earlier today.

It wasn’t all work though. I took a couple breaks in between.

During my mid-morning break, I went to buy a snack at my favorite bread shop downstairs. I needed to get my blood circulating in my legs πŸ˜‰

After perusing a bit I decided on a sweet potato bread.

Doesn’t it actually look like a sweet potato from the side? I didn’t realize it until after I had snapped a photo of it.

The outside is soft bread, and inside is actually a sweet potato.

It’s definitely not the most attractive looking bread, but it’s a tasty one.

After I very slowly ate my snack it was back to work.

A while later I took my second break and hadΒ lunch. I ate the other item I had purchased during my mid-morning trip to La Creation de Gute.

Any guess what my lunch was?

How about now?

It’s a tuna sandwich! Well, I guess it doesn’t qualify as a true sandwich since it’s not between two slices of bread, but I don’t know what to call it. Tuna roll? eh..

Whatever it’s called, it wasΒ mighty tasty.

And I ate it all. After all, I am a member of the clean plates club πŸ˜‰

I had some golden kiwi and watermelon on the side.

Anyone know if you can eat kiwi skin? I didn’t try it, but I feel like I should.

After lunch I finished up my assignment (finally!) and headed to they gym for 22 mins on the elliptical, 17 on the bike, 17 on the treadmill, and 10 mins of abs.

Then came my favorite part of my day today. A walk to the grocery store! πŸ™‚

I have no food here and needed some veggies stat. Plus I really wanted to use the steamer in the kitchen here.

I’ve never used an actual steamer before and this thing is amazing! You can make anything in it from rice to de-crystalizing honey, or even make yogurt!

Since it was my first time using it, I kept it on the simpler side.

I decided on some chinese spinach, carrots, tofu, and half of a mini Japanese pumpkin.

During it’s 15 mins in the steamer, I showered off and had some salmon rolls as an appetizer.

Then, voilΓ ! – Veggies were ready.

I think I may have overcooked the spinach slightly,Β but it was still good and not tough at all. Just a bit brown.

After I was about 2/3’s through, I realized I didn’t season any of the veggies before steaming them, but I don’t really think it needed anything. Fresh veggies are always best as is. The carrots gave the spinach a slightly sweet taste, and the pumpkin was delicious on its own.

I couldn’t read the label of the tofu to see whether it was firm or silken, since it was all in Chinese, so it was a surprise πŸ™‚ I usually eat firm, but luckily I like all tofu because it ended up being silken. Delicious and smoooooth.

This has to be one of the easiest dinners I’ve ever made! Aside from my instant noodles last night…

But that doesn’t count πŸ˜‰

Now I’m off to find something to satisfy my sweet tooth πŸ˜›

I’ll also be making something with these in a bit!

Any guesses what I’ll be doing with them?

Have a terrific tuesday!

11 Comments on “Steamed Dinner”

  1. You can eat kiwi skins if you don’t mind the texture πŸ˜€ Just make sure to wash them really well and enjoy. And baking bread around a filling is like the coolest thing ever. Now I feel kind of boring for just stuffing a bunch of filling between two slices of bread lol. And is a japanese pumpkin just another name for kabocha squash? Because they look similar… I have one sitting on my counter and I’ve been meaning to cut into it for a while now because I’ve never had one, but I never seem to get around to it. Hmph.

    And my guess for the beans issss… brownies? πŸ˜€ Bean desserts have just been all over the blog world lately, so it’s the first thing that popped into my mind.

    • kris says:

      Oh ok, thats good to know, Thanks! πŸ™‚
      and, Yep! That’s exactly what japanese pumpkin is. I actually don’t really like pumpkin (other than pumpkin pie), but I loveee kabocha squash! It’s great baked, steamed, or even boiled. I hope you like it!

      oooh good guess! – You’ll find out tmrw πŸ˜‰ Perhaps I should use my leftover beans for brownies though…

  2. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    All those breads look so tasty! How clever is that to put a baked potato into a bread? πŸ™‚
    I eat kiwi with its skin, it does you no harm, but some poepl just canΒ΄t stand the taste/texture.. to me it tastes ok..but it is more about my laziness than about me enjoying the taste of that skin πŸ™‚

    • kris says:

      I’m always so lazy when it comes to cutting off the skin too. That’s why I was wondering if I could just eat it πŸ˜› Other times I cut the top off and just scoop the flesh out with a spoon. Minimizes skin-peeling time!
      I’ll try it with the skin on tmrw πŸ™‚

  3. I love the Korean sweet potato bread, but i’ve never seen it like this before! It’s literally the whole tater haha. And that steamer is really cool~I’d probably play with it everyday. πŸ˜‰

  4. Kalli says:

    i love those funky breads with the fillings in them. looks like something i would LOVE!

  5. Yan Ee says:

    Hi πŸ˜€ first time leaving comments here.. I study food science and nutrition in singapore and i saw in your photos that you ate spinach and tofu together. I was wondering if you are aware that it is not recommended to take spinach and tofu together? Spinach has very high amounts of oxalic acid and they will bind to the calcium of tofu, thus decreasing their overall nutritional value drastically. Just for you info πŸ™‚

    • kris says:

      Hi! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for taking the time let me know!! My mom used to always read me what foods can’t go with which, but I ALWAYS forget! I’m so glad you left your comment πŸ™‚
      What an awesome subject to study, btw!


Leave a Reply

