Flashbacks: SINGAPORE – Part 2

Our last day in Singapore was spent visiting Sentosa, a small island with attractions, beaches, and resorts. Universal studios is also located there. We just had a quick visit though since it was hot out and we also needed to get back to the hotel by 1pm to check out.

After checking out of our hotel we had lunch nearby and then paid one last visit to Newton food centre for some white radish cakes, black radish cakes (pictured below), fried oyster, and dessert. I was already full from our first lunch, but i still managed to have a little taste of almost everything including the soursop ice, which was soo good!

Grass Jelly Ice

Soursop Ice

I even found the red bull thats not available in the United States! Apparently the caffeine content is too high and since we all know I have my issues with caffeine, I didn’t try any.

After my two lunches, we finally headed to the airport. Since we had some time to spare I stopped to buy a loaf of one of my favorite sweet treats I mentioned 2 days ago.

Remember this package?

This is what was inside!

Kueh Lapis – a labor intensive layered cake that is baked layer upon layer until golden brown.

Just look at all those deliciously sweet layers.

After my excited-ness in finding the cake partially wore off, I stopped in at the airports butterfly garden.

I think every airport needs a butterfly garden. It was awesome!

And now I’ll leave you with one last Singapore tidbit…Did you know that gum is prohibited in singapore? They don’t sell it at all and you’re not allowed to bring it in either. No wonder their streets are so incredibly clean!

8 Comments on “Flashbacks: SINGAPORE – Part 2”

  1. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Two lunches are definitely better than just one lunch 🙂 And OMG that cake!! Looks wonderful. I´ll probably try to make this at home (but I have a feeling that it will be a failure 🙂 Butterfly garden at every airport would be so dreamy, waiting for flights would be so much better!

    • kris says:

      That would be awesome if you made it! Let me know if you do 🙂 Plus, with all the delicious goodies you’ve been baking lately, I’m sure you’d be successful! 🙂

  2. !! No gum allowed in the city? That’s pretty crazy. I gave up chewing gum a few years ago so it would be too big of a deal for me, but I can imagine it would be hard for quite a few people. I love the butterfly garden, though, and totally agree that every airport needs to have one. And that layered cake? Omigosh. I can only imagine how much work goes into something like that, and how delicious it must taste as a result.

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    WOW! So gorgeous!

    And no gum?! Weird….but probably better for you anyway-and the streets!

  4. Kalli says:

    love that butterfly garden! and i like the idea of no gum 🙂


Leave a Reply

