Chocolate Heaven

I’m glad you all enjoyed reading about my 5 ingredient crispies!

This morning I went to chocolate heaven.

All thanks to this little guy…

Into my blender went:

  • 1 packet of true vitality chocolate protein powder
  • ~ 1.25 cups unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 5 frozen unsweetened chocolate almond milk cubes
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 T espresso

It was SO chocolaty delicious I never wanted it to end. But then it did.

It’s okay, we’ll meet again tomorrow 🙂

On a not so chocolaty note…I have a confession.

I’ve been feeling a little guilty for neglecting Barbara lately, but I’ve recently found a new love.

Nature’s Path Heritage Flakes. They’re crunchy and have just the right amount of sweetness making them oh so perfect to munch on any time of the day.

I’m pretty sure you can tell I’m quite enamored with cereal, but did you know I used to never eat cereal?  As in, I didn’t eat a lick of it for a good 5 or so years.

I somehow had it engraved in my mind that ALL cereal was bad for you and shouldn’t be touched. And now I realize that is the wrong mindset. There are still many cereals out there that are loaded with sugar that I still wouldn’t touch, but there are also whole grain cereals that are packed with nutrients.

I’m not positive where I got that idea from, but I want to say it came from this:

This my friends, is a book I do not recommend reading.

I read it many years ago, and I actually don’t think I ever finished it, but the book puts ideas into your mind that I now believe to be quite untrue.

Not the entire book is bad, but it is a book that needs to be read with an open mind and absorbed sparingly.  He makes great points about how many peoples diets lack fruits and vegetables, but he also doesn’t tread lightly on certain matter such as oils and how they are ALL bad for us no matter what.

All in all, I just feel that this book may lead to unbalanced diets that are much too restrictive, which could in turn back fire in the long run.

How did I get from talking about neglecting Barbara to Joel Fuhrman?

Well, I’m just glad that cereals eventually found their way back into my life 🙂

What’s your favorite cereal?

Any good recommendations for health books?

12 Comments on “Chocolate Heaven”

  1. Your chocolate shake looks delicious, and cereal is absolutely delicious as well – I eat a bowl of it everyday in some form 😀 I go through phases with which ones I love the most, and right now it’s a mixture of cinnamon Puffins and Kashi Honey Sunshine.

    I’m always kind of wary when reading nutrition books, because it was that kind of thing that got me into disordered eating in the first place. I do think that people need to be healthy and try to choose whole, unprocessed foods, but only to a point. If it turns into an obsession where you begin fearing food, that’s just wrong 😦

    • kris says:

      I NEED to try cinnamon puffins. And kashi honey sunshine is SO good. It was actually the first cereal I had when I started eating cereal again. 🙂

  2. namastegurl says:

    Haha, I have a current chocolate obsession right now as well. I love pairing my chocolate with raspberries, strawberries, or cherries 🙂 I have an excuse to call eating chocolate “healthy” now 🙂 Whether it’s in oat, smoothie form or just by itself I love the combo!

    Never read that book!

  3. True Vitality is on my “to-try” list for protein powders 😉 I’m exercising self control and not trying 5 all at once, haha.
    Oooh, I love those Nature’s PAth flakes, too! I couldn’t choose a favorite cereal, though. Currently I’m all about Barbara’s shredded spoonfuls and Kashi Autumn Wheat. I love the Kashi biscuits – they’re good to grab a handful as snacks, OR with a big cereal bowl 🙂

    I haven’t read many nutrition books…besides my textbook when I took the class 😛 I think there is a large portion of them that have advice more suited to people who legitimately need to lose weight – hence, limiting fat. Which, makes sense, because calories in need to be watched. But for you and I, active people who are just maintaining our health, that advice isn’t always best!

  4. My “favorite” cereal changes all the time. Right now I’m back to loving my Kashi Go Lean, but I’ve had the Heritage Flakes before and they are delicious, especially with blueberries and almonds! I’ll confess that I have an addiction to Quaker Oat Squares…as in I can’t buy them anymore since my last box only lasted me three days! Haha, oops!

    In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan. I didn’t get to finish it before it was due back to the library, but what I did read was definitely enlightening.

  5. Kalli says:

    thank you for your honest recap of that book……..so many times we read something and we think it is all truth. love your chocolate shake in the morning. now that may get me out of bed 🙂

  6. Nature’s Path Whole O’s are amazing.


Leave a Reply

