5 Ingredient Crispies

Remember how I said I was going to go make a mess in my kitchen last night?

Well, I surprisingly kept it on the neat side. For the most part.   I dropped my measuring cup on the floor creating a splattering of brown rice syrup. oops! Next Jackson Pollock in the making? 😉

Summer always brings out my craving for frozen rice crispies and this girl wanted some last night 🙂

Enter: 5 Ingredient Crispies

  • 1/3 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1/3 cup cashew butter
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 2 cups kamut puffs

Stir together brown rice syrup and cashew butter in a microwave safe bowl. Pop in the microwave for 20 seconds.  Stir. Microwave for another 20 seconds. Stir in vanilla extract and salt.  Pour over kamut puffs and mix until combined.

I pressed it into a 8×8 in pan lined with parchment paper (easy clean-up!) and put into the freezer to set up for about a 2 hrs.

It doesn’t get any easier than this! I keep these store in the freezer because they’re the perfect cold treats.

What are some of your favorite summer treats? – Besides frozen rice crispies, I do love some good cobblers and crisps.

I think I’m going to swim a couple laps then spend my afternoon soaking up some sun by the pool. I hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday!

15 Comments on “5 Ingredient Crispies”

  1. emma says:

    I love frozen rice c own heart crispies! A girl of my own heart 🙂

  2. Anna says:

    Oh maaan, I’d forgotten about rice krispy treats, I used to love those as a kid! Love the use of cashew butter, I’m all over these!

  3. You’ve been digging around in my head! I’ve actually been craving rice crispy treats like crazy lately, and I’m taking this as a sign from above that I NEED to make them 😀 Now I just need to pick up some brown rice syrup and I’m set. As for summer treats, I really love cold melons, iced coffee, and of course, ice cream 😀

  4. You’re right these couldn’t be easier! I love recipes with very few ingredients, these are right up my alley.

    Summer wouldn’t be summer for me without Italian ices, I grew up on em and never grew out of em 🙂

  5. I’ve never tried a frozen rice krispie treat but you better believe that will soon change since I have all of these ingredients in my kitchen! Mmm!

  6. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Nice recipe, I like simple things! My fave summer treat would be a melon sprinkled with cinnamon 🙂

    • kris says:

      I’ve never tried melon sprinkled with cinnamon. I do love cinnamon though!

      • Lenna (veganlenna) says:

        Then go and try it! 🙂 Well, I don´t want to sound that I am forcing you to it 🙂 But it is pretty good. I haven´t tried it with watermelon yet, but cantaloupe or honeydew melons are perfect that way 🙂

  7. Jenny says:

    Love how easy these are to make! Looks delicious 🙂

  8. […] worked through the morning with a couple visits to the freezer where all the leftover 5 ingredient crispies I had made for yesterdays boat trip were hanging […]

  9. […] I’m hoping that crispy brown rice makes for a crispier 5 ingredient crispy. […]


Leave a Reply

