Salad Remix

I’ve been all over giant salads for lunch lately. Not only are they ridiculously delicious and nutritious, but the best way to get rid of leftovers.

It’s like a salad remix.

Last night’s dinner:

Homemade salmon burgers – protein style (lettuce, no bun) – with veggie kabobs


Made today’s lunch:

Fluffy bed of romaine lettuce, grilled zucchinis, tomatoes, and bell peppers Β from last nights kabobs, leftover salmon patty, ginger marinated tempeh, and a dollop of hummus.

With a side of raspberries

Other [leftover] salads I’ve been eating lately:

Whole foods cold bar leftovers served over romaine and bell peppers along with a dollop of hummus and guacamole.

Plus a cruncy and sweet peach

This one had romaine, mini bell peppers, leftover beets and tempeh with a dollop of hummus and one Babybel cheese round. Β I just love peeling those cheeses out of their individual red wax layer πŸ™‚

Served with a fruit cup

Perfect summer eats! πŸ™‚

I’m still waiting for one specific summer eat though…

Zespri kiwis

I’m allergic to green kiwis so I never eat them, but strangely I can still tolerate a small amount of gold kiwis. Β Lucky me because I like the gold ones better anyways πŸ™‚

They’re supposed to be most easily found in grocery stores from May to October, but I haven’t seen any yet. Β I’ll be on the lookout though!

Are you big on leftovers?Β 

Do you like gold kiwis?

11 Comments on “Salad Remix”

  1. Eee salads are the perfect summer food. But then again, I crave a salad beast every day, no matter what the weather is, so they’re just the perfect food in general for me πŸ˜€

    I’ve never had a gold kiwi, but I AM big on leftovers – at least when there are some lying around. Since I cook only for myself, I usually just make enough for one serving unless I know I’m gonna be super busy and won’t have time to cook later, so leftovers aren’t that common… which is kinda sad because so many things taste better when they’ve been chilling in the fridge for a while!

  2. I’ve never had gold kiwis before – where have you gotten them in previous years? I’m in DC, I feel like we never get the good stuff!!

    I also did a little ‘clean out the fridge’ salad for lunch today and I was surprised how good the combo was: lentils, fennel, brussel sprouts and cucumber with fresh cilantro and a mustard dressing.

    • kris says:

      Yum, that DOES sound good! I used to hate brussel sprouts, but now I love them. Its funny how our tastes preferences change as we age πŸ™‚

      I usually just get the gold kiwis at the regular chain grocery stores or asian supermarkets. Whole foods has them too and I’m sure your local farmers market should carry them as well. I haven’t seem them yet this year, but I remember eating them in August last year. Hope you’re able to find some to try!

  3. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Gold kiwi? I have never seen this one! But I like the normal, green variety πŸ™‚
    I love leftovers, I usually enjoy them even more than the freshly-made meals πŸ™‚

  4. Big salads make the best lunch! Especially when topped with salmon πŸ˜‰

  5. Oh my gosh girl, your plates look beautiful! Lovin all that summer color! And that bowl of raspberries…ahh! I just want to dive into it!

    LOVE LEFTOVERS! Where would I be for lunches throughout the week if it weren’t for leftovers? I’m sure as heck not going to the hospital cafeteria! I’d rather eat a stick! <- hey, it's loaded with fiber! πŸ˜‰

    I'm definitely going to be on the lookout for the golden kiwis! I've never tried them before…maybe my allergy will be like yours!

  6. […] left with bananas, a pumpkin black oat drink mix, golden zespri kiwis (I found them!!), and salmon rolls. I was originally going to stop at Pret a Manager for a hummus sandwich on my […]


Leave a Reply

