Fresh From The Farm

Afternoon oaties 🙂

How is it already 5pm?? It feels like I just had breakfast not too long ago…

I hope everyone had a wonderful fathers day yesterday!!  I had a pretty blah morning/afternoon since I’ve been spending my time catching up on reading and hw assignments.

Fun stuff I tell you.

I brightened up my afternoon yesterday with a colorful lunch.

Romaine, bell peppers, guacamole, hummus, and a whole slew of whole foods cold bar leftovers – balsamic tofu, mushrooms, beets, forbidden rice, eggplant.

And a pretty peach.

Then I proceeded to bake up another batch of tropical papaya muffins for my awesome dad with some papayas I brought home with me from Hawaii.  Technically we can’t bring ‘whole’ fruits back to the mainland (other than pineapple) with the whole agriculture rules and such, but if you cut it up and bring it home in a soy yogurt tub like me, than you’re good to go 🙂

After my muffin fail on Saturday, I kinda had to redeem myself with new muffins.  And with muffins I knew would be actually turn out 🙂

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

This morning I got back into my normal exercise routine with a 15 min interval run/warm-up on the treadmill followed by my usual strength stability stretch class.  I was actually quite pleasantly surprised when my warm-up run seemed a tad easier than normal. I haven’t been on a treadmill in over a week and been doing my runs outdoors.  I guess running outdoors does that to you?  I don’t know what I did, but I’m liking it!

I was ultra stoked for breakfast this morning because my neighbor brought over some fresh farm eggs from her daughters farm last night.

How cute is her label?  I’ve never tried fresh eggs before and these eggs were quite the beauties.

My question is…Why are farm eggs all different colors while the eggs I get from the grocery store all one color – either white or brown?

I guess I could stop my pondering and just google it.  Nah, maybe later…

Anyways, I cooked one up this morning. (the speckled one to be exact).

Two slices of cinnamon raisin ezekiel bread.

One with peanut butter, jelly, and banana slices.

The other with the egg.

Both were delicious.

The rest of my morning/afternoon were again pretty ‘blah’. I’m still working on an operations management assignment about business flows thats due tomorrow night by 11:55am. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, I was right there with you until about 3pm yesterday.  Yes, I am a ‘bit‘ behind.  Can you tell? 😉

So tell me, Where do you get your eggs from?  And are they multi-colored or all just one color like mine?

15 Comments on “Fresh From The Farm”

  1. Lol I love how you picked the speckled egg – I totally would have done the same thing 😀 And your breakfast looks absolutely delicious. Nut butter, bananas, eggs, and toast go so well together 😀

    We get our eggs either from the local farmers market, or from a cruelty farm in the store. The ones from the market are multi-colored, but the ones from the store are either all brown or all white. Both taste delicious, though 😉

  2. her label really is awesome! the eggs i get just come in re-used cartons with a mailing label stuck on them 😛 speaking of which – i get my eggs from a farm on my way home. i’ve actually tried three different farms now, but I swear, this place is absolutely, hands-down the best. they must be some happy chickens. the yolks are always so vibrantly orange and YUMMY, and usually I hate the yolks!
    …and yes, they tend to vary a bit in color. speckled, dark brown, light brown, and most recently i had one that was a pale shade of green!
    …wow. i guess i really like talking about (and eating) eggs.

    • kris says:

      I think that is the coolest thing that you can pick up your eggs from a farm on your way home!
      woahh, green eggs and [veggie?] ham! 🙂

  3. namastegurl says:

    I’ve never tried PB, egg and banana– a combo I have yet to try! I’m sure I’d love it as I’m a sucker for all three of those yummy foods 🙂
    I get my eggs from my local egg ranch called Glaum’s. I wouldn’t have it any other way!

  4. Lenna says:

    Well…where did I get my eggs from? From flax seeds I think:)))

  5. Devan says:

    PB, egg and banana!? That sounds pretty interesting! Yumm!

  6. Marina says:

    Actually, that combo does sound appealing to me :))
    eggs are different in color because of the various chicken breeds. The ones in the grocery store probably come from a farm that has only one or two types of breeds 🙂

  7. Farm fresh eggs are simply amazing. I don’t have access to them, so I just buy organic eggs from the store.

  8. Mmm, love that sandwich! Course, you know I’m no stranger to sweet egg dishes!

    What pretty packaging! And I totally would’ve picked the speckled egg first! I get my eggs from the local farmer’s market and they are usually different shades of brown and sometimes they have specks. I would love to get a carton with a green one though…I think that’s the day I’ll play the lottery! Haha! 😉


Leave a Reply

