PB & J Fail

Lesson # 1 of the day:

Buckwheat flour, even as little as a half cup, makes for an extremely dense muffin.

Lesson # 2 of the day:

I have very messed up unique taste buds.

I’ve been on a pb & jelly kick lately.  Actually I’m always on board for pb & j, but today I decided I wanted to eat it in muffin form.  It ended in the form of PB & J muffin fail.

I tasted it and thought it was extremely dense, but still tolerable.

I had two other people taste it and they each took one bite and spit it out. I guess my taste buds are a little off?

Oh well…better luck tomorrow!

Do you like to come up with your own recipes or are you more of an adapter?

14 Comments on “PB & J Fail”

  1. I love coming up with my own recipes! Gluten free flours intimidate me though so I’m more of a recipe-follower when it comes to completely gf things! I definitely have found out the hard way what you “can” and “can’t” do with different flours. I love buckwheat in waffles and pancakes, but I don’t think I’ve ever made muffins with it.

    At least they’re tolerable! Smear some more PB & J on them and they’ll probably be great; problem solved 😉

    • kris says:

      Ohh buckwheat waffles and pancakes sound great! I’ve only used buckwheat flour in breakfast bakes that I sometimes microwave and they usually come out quite dense so it should’ve been a clue. I’m officially intimidated by gluten free flours and will follow guidelines of some sort next time I use them.

      Sounds like a good plan to me 🙂

  2. Haha oh I’ve had some serious problems with buckwheat flour as well. Did you grind your own or use storebought? I find that if you grind it from raw buckwheat groats, it’s a lot easier. The storebought flours just have this really weird consistency…

    I like to come up with my own recipes, but if I’m working with something new that I don’t know much about, then I follow recipes until I learn how things work. Still, I’ve had a lot of mess ups in the kitchen… things my dog wouldn’t even eat!

  3. oh gosh im so sorry aboutthe fail! happens a lot to me which is why i rarely bake or cook!

  4. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    I am more of an adapter – but a total adapter! I see something I like, I assemble the ingredients just from looking at the picture, then I find that I have only few of them and must substitute the rest and then I finish with muffins instead of pancakes or something like that :))

  5. So sorry about your muffins! I’ve been getting into buckwheat groats lately, but haven’t tried the flour yet – I’m scared now haha. If it makes you feel any better, I had a baking fail this weekend as well – I tried to adapt/bake my raw granola bars. I wound up with mush!

    • kris says:

      Oh, no worries, I think bake fails are just a given…plus, this just gives me another chance to bake 🙂
      I love buckwheat groats, especially in granola form! I hope I didn’t scare you too much!…I think I should’ve looked into the effects of buckwheat flour a little more before impulsively deciding to just use it.
      I hope to see your raw granola bars soon! 🙂


Leave a Reply

