Papaya Overload

I’m back and I’m baking!

Today is my last day in Hawaii 😦 and what’s one to do when there is way too many local farm-fresh papayas left over and not enough time to eat it all??

Turn it into a baked good, of course!

I thought over a couple papaya-possibilities over some papaya and almond butter oats

I don’t think I’ll go around putting papaya into my oats all that often, but I needed to eat them and thought I’d give it a try.

With only have a limited amount of perishable ingredients left and time, all signs pointed to muffins. Quick and no scrub clean up.

I felt all Giada-esque (from Food Network’s ‘Giada at Home’) with the view I had as I was baking today in the kitchen.

Hot and fresh out of the oven

I wonder if my neighbors smelled my muffins baking because it smelled goooood in here.  I’ll be sure to bring a basket over before I leave this afternoon 🙂

Tropical Papaya Muffins

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (melted or softened)
  • heaping 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup mashed papaya
  • 1/8 – 1/4 cup diced papaya
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup spelt flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 t cinnamon
Bowl 1: Mix together the two flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Set to side.

Bowl 2: Cream together coconut oil and sugar until combined.  Add eggs and mix until combined.  Mix in 1 cup papaya and coconut flakes.  Mix in bowl 1 until combined.  Fold in diced papaya and fill muffin tins.

Bake at 350 for 18-20 mins.

I got to use these cuties today.

Aren’t they adorable??  My sweet friend gave them to me and they make measuring so fun 🙂

These tropical papaya muffins turned out even better than I expected!  They’re soft, crumbly, and moist.  Plus the ingredient list is super simple and relatively clean.

A definite airplane companion this evening.

Time to clean up!

Do you like papaya? I can live with it and I can live without it.  It’s not my most favorite fruit, but its nice to include it every once in a while.  Can’t be playin favorites! 😉


7 Comments on “Papaya Overload”

  1. those measuring spoons are adorable. i wish i had cutesy measuring cups! lol. we just have old plastic ones :X
    and the muffins look great, too. i used to love dried papaya, but the one time i had it fresh i think i remember not caring for it too much :/ I’d love to give it a try in muffins, though!

    • kris says:

      I’ve actually never tried dried papaya, but it sounds good! I think you’d like the muffins since they don’t have too strong of a papaya taste 🙂

  2. Eee! Those measuring spoons are SO CUTE. Mine are just metal and boring, but they’re getting old so maybe I should replace them with something adorable 😉

    And the muffins look fantastic. I love papaya, although I don’t eat it all that often because delicious, ripe, juicy ones aren’t all that easy to come across here. Maybe I need to take a vacation to Hawaii 😀

    • kris says:

      Anthropologie has some of the cutest cooking utensils and kitchenwear! I want it allllll, but alas my bank account is not so much a fan 😉

      Thats a perfect reason to go! 🙂

  3. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Well, papay and oats – now that is an original combination 🙂 I am not much a fan of papaya…I had it only once and didn´t enjoy the taste, but I might give it a try once more 🙂

  4. […] I proceeded to bake up another batch of tropical papaya muffins for my awesome dad with some papayas I brought home with me from Hawaii.  Technically we […]

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I LOVE those measuring spoons, so cute! Thanks for posting the recipe too… can’t wait to try it out 🙂


Leave a Reply

