Grab and Go Breakfasts – Part 2

Apologies for the delay in getting this post out.

In between a paper I had due today and the 230 pg naui scuba diver textbook, 2 informational cd’s to watch, and 8 chapter quizzes and test I have to get through in the next three days, I was a running a little short on time.

You better believe I had one of these 5 min breakfasts this morning!

Actually it was a combination of a couple of them.  I had two papaya halves with greek yogurt scooped into them and a side of cinnamon eziekel toast.  Quick, easy, delicious.

Isn’t vacation supposed to be relaxing?  not this time.

Continuing on with easy and nutritious breakfasts…

Breakfasts in under 5  mins (continued):

Oatmeal:

Oats are super versatile and can be cooked in your favorite way.  I like to load mine up with extra protein by adding in 2 egg whites and a couple spoonfuls of cottage cheese.  It takes under 5 mins to cook up old fashioned rolled oats or oat bran and only a couple secs to load them with any toppings your little heart desires.

My favorites are of course berries, nut butter, and jelly.  Sometimes I’ll add a little extra somethin somethin by sprinkling on some ground flax or chia seeds.

Bagel or Toast:

This is one of my all time favorites whether I have loads of time or no time at all.  Load it up with whatever you like and you can eat it at home or take it with you to work.  Pictured above is a sprouted wheat bagel with cashew butter, cottage cheese, and banana slices.  The other half was already in my belly 🙂

Wraps or Tacos:

You can take the sweet route here…

Or the savory one…

They’re just as good either way. I promise 🙂

The sweet wrap is a flatout whole wheat wrap smeared with cashew butter and stuffed with mangos and bananas.

The savory is an ezekiel tortilla folded over egg white and cheese.

I also like to cook last nights leftover veggies with some eggs in the morning, slide it onto a tortilla, and smother it with ketchup for a quick veggie breakfast taco.  Leftovers sometimes make the best breakfasts/lunch.

Make ahead breakfasts:

Overnight Oats/Oats in a Jar (OIAJ):

(source)

This is a very popular breakfast all across the blogosphere and it’s all up to you as far as ingredients go.

Just mix everything together the night before, put it in the fridge,  and the next morning you have an instant breakfast that can easily be taken with you.  Plus, it’s great in the summer when stove cooked oats are just too hot to eat.

You can keep it relatively simple like Stephanie or take it to a whole other level like Mary or Jenny.

It’s all up to you and your preferences.  Kath has some great combos if you’d like to look at for some inspiration.

Steel-Cut Oats:

bound to hold you over

Steel cut oats take the longest amount of time to make and are best made in advance.  I used to cook up a large batch at the beginning of the week, store it in the fridge, and reheat some in the microwave each morning. The coarse texture of the oats hold up well over throughout the week.

If it gets too dry, add a little extra milk before heating it up.  

I also cook mine up in my rice cooker sometimes.  I just add the oats and necessary amount of water into the cooker, set the timer, and in the morning I’ve got hot and steamy oats waiting for me to top away.

Pancakes and Waffles:

Thats right, i just said pancakes and waffles.  These weekend delight’s can easily be weekday breakfasts if you make them ahead of time.  Just freeze them and toast em up in the morning!

Waffles make for some great breakfast sandwiches 🙂

Muffins, Bars, and Breads:

Breakfast cookies

Papaya Bars

Strawberry Bread

If you’re feeling extra adventurous or just have an itch to bake, ‘healthy’ cookies, fruit bars, and bread make the quickest breakfasts.  They’re literally just grab and go in the mornings!

Now that we all know that I can eat breakfast on the fly 😉 …I need to ask you a question of my own.  

How do you manage your time when you’ve got a lot going on??  Apparently I’m not too good at it…

6 Comments on “Grab and Go Breakfasts – Part 2”

  1. Stephanie says:

    As a busy Mom of 3 I always make sure everyone else is fed, but often times I forget about myself. Too often I realize I am starved around 11am and end up grabbing a Cliff Bar- not bad, but not the best breakfast either. I love some of your ideas! We do love doing overnight oats, and putting them in a jar like that is such a great idea! I also never would have thought to put yogurt (or anything) in papaya halves- my daughters would LOVE that!

    • kris says:

      Thanks! 🙂 I like to add granola on top of the greek yogurt and papayas sometimes too. My sister prefers hers with yogurt and a drizzle of agave or honey.

  2. Jenny says:

    I’m definitely big on breakfast! I always make time to get something delicious in 🙂

  3. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Hmmm..papaya – it looks like a very tasty breakfast:) Oh and I totally forgot about wraps being a great “on-the-go” breakfast! I like all your tips:)


Leave a Reply

