Grab and Go Breakfasts – Part 1

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.  And I’m not just saying that because I may be slightly obsessed with it.

In reality breakfast is really what fuels our bodies and prepares us for the rest the day.

Lets do a quick comparison:  Breakfasts vs. Cars.  Say what??

Well, if you have a car that needs 93 grade fuel and you give it 87 or 90, it’s obviously not going to function too well in the long run. It’s the same with breakfast.  If I’m feeding myself refined carbs and sugary foods like toaster strudels, pop-tarts, or fruit loops every morning, I’m pretty much asking to have some kind of energy crash before I even reach for my mid-morning snack. We have to fuel ourselves with 93 grade fuel real foods that will keep us full longer and give us energy in the long run.

So basically, what I’m trying to say is that we are all european sports cars 😉

I know everyone is a busy bee these days and sometimes don’t have much time to make or eat breakfast, making it easiest to just grab something quick and easy from the freezer, counter, drive thru, or just plain skip out on breakfast.

My question is…why would you skip breakfast when it’s the best meal of the day?  Alas, I understand that not everyone is obsessed like me, so I’ve come up with a few suggestions for you busy young professionals who don’t have that extra time for breakfast, as you’re busy trying to make this world a better place.  At least that’s what I’d like to think. ;)

So get your notepads iPads out and jot this down…

First, I highly recommend stocking up on whole grains such as steel-cut oats, rolled oats, whole-wheat bread, whole-wheat tortillas, and whole grain cereals.

Next up is the dairy. Low-fat or non-fat yogurt (if flavored, I recommend the ones sweetened with fruit juice rather than sugar and are under 10g of sugar), 2% or skim milk, low-fat cottage cheese, eggs.

Lastly, the extras.  In-season fruits, frozen fruits, nut butter, unsalted nuts, veggies.

These are all very convenient and easy to purchase foods that can be effortlessly interchanged throughout the week for an assortment of breakfasts.

Breakfast in under 5 mins:

Cereal

This is probably one of the easiest and most convenient breakfasts.  However, it is key to choose the right kind of cereal. One that is high in nutrients, fiber, whole grains, and relatively low in sugar.

Cereal F.A.C.T.S has a great fact sheet that summarizes and ranks cereals by their nutritional content.  Check it out!

My personal favorite is a mix of Barbara’s peanut butter & chocolate puffins, 1 Barbara’s shredded wheat, a generous serving of Nature Path’s kamut or brown rice puffs and a sprinkle of fresh or frozen fruit.  All topped off with some ice cold unsweetened almond milk.

My usual ratio of unsweetened to sweetened cereal is 2:1.  So 2 portions unsweetened (kamut puffs & shredded wheat) and 1 portion sweetened (puffins).

I’d follow suit Amanda‘s recommendation and take it up to a whole new level by adding some cottage cheese and/or nut butter for an additional protein boost!

Smoothies

This is a great go to, especially during the summer, and it’s super simple. All you need is a blender, milk, frozen bananas, other frozen fruit and all else is optional.  I prefer to add a scoop of protein powder for more staying power, my favorite brand being Green Foods True Vitality in vanilla or chocolate flavor.

A couple of my favorite blends: chocolate heaven, açaí bowl, and almond banana.

The real smoothie queen, however, is Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers. One glance at her smoothies and I’m pretty sure you won’t be skipping breakfast. That’s how good they look.

Just blend em up and bring it along to consume during your commute to work.

Yogurt

(source)

This one is all up to personal preferences as there are so many different types of yogurts out there. My personal favorites are Siggi’s, Whole Foods brand non fat yogurt, and Strauss plain non-fat yogurt.

Just mix in some fresh or frozen fruit, top off with some cereal, granola, or nuts and you’re good to go.

I like greek yogurt because it has a higher amount of protein and hopefully keeps me full a little longer.

So there you have it! Now you busy professionals (*cough* yusi *cough*) have three less excuses for for not having enough time for a nutritious breakfast.  Keep an eye out for Grab and Go Breakfasts – Part Two coming on Saturday!  Tomorrow is saved for my weekly in & out.

Night!

14 Comments on “Grab and Go Breakfasts – Part 1”

  1. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    I used to love yoghurt when I was younger. Now I am good without it, but I enjoy my oatmeal and smoothies, those are perfect breakfast food:)

    • kris says:

      Lately I haven’t been eating much yogurt other than in smoothies. If I get the choice, I’d choose oats over yogurt anyday 🙂

  2. I’m a cereal fiend! I also mix unsweetened with sweetened 😉 And add tons of fruit and peanut butter! Those toasted almond squares look awesome. I’ve never seen them before.

    • kris says:

      This was the first time I purchased them. I found them on sale at Whole FOods and I think they’re sold exclusively there. Or thats what I remember the box saying. I still like Barbara’s puffins better though 🙂

  3. I have no idea how, or why, people skip breakfast! I used to do it a lot when I was younger, and have no idea what I was thinking. These days I never go without it 😀 In fact, sometimes I eat it 3 times a day 😉

    Oats are def. my favorite to have first thing in the morning, but I love cereal, yogurt messes, smoothies, pancakes, waffles, etc. all throughout the day 😀

    • kris says:

      I used to do it when I was young too! I just never felt hungry in the mornings, but now I’m ravenous when I wake up. But I love it! 🙂

  4. sisi says:

    I am so glad you “dedicated” this post for me, or maybe the next one too! haha. Actually I always like a big breakfast but since I am not a morning person, I find myself in a rush every morning before I go to work, now adding that I have to feed my puppies breakfast too. I always grab a banana and a toasted whole wheat muffin to go, but get tired of it after a while. So thanks for the suggestions for more quick breakfast ideas! ❤

  5. I reallly can’t fathom how people function without eating in the morning~I know I can’t 😛 You’re really making me want to try that shredded wheat! It looks so good and fun to eat.

    • kris says:

      I highly recommend it! 🙂 It’s great mixed with other cereals. It’s crispy/crunch when dry, but once mixed with milk it gets a little soggy, but I still love that texture mixed with the other crunchy cereal.

  6. Oh my gosh, I could NEVER skip breakfast! Heck, these days I’ve been so obsessed with the meal that I’ve been having breakfast at least twice a day! I actually just finished a snack of Original Puffins, soy milk, peanut flour, and dehydrated steebies! Yum!

    Am I the only one that totally freaked out the first time I opened a box of PB Puffins and saw how big they are?? Holy crap…puffins on steroids!

    • kris says:

      Yummy!
      LOL i love that you mentioned that because I was TOTALLY surprised when I opened my first box of pb puffins. They’re HUGE! but so delicious 🙂

  7. […] Uncategorized | Leave a comment » I know I said I would be back today with part two of my Grab and Go Breakfasts series, but I’m in over my head with all of […]

  8. […] Continuing on with easy and nutritious breakfasts… […]


Leave a Reply

