Breakfast On The Go

Three days off from working out and my lungs were already unwilling to cooperate.  I think they enjoyed their time off a little too much. I was feelin it this morning at my cardio sculpt class and seemed to be quite lacking in the air department during the cardio bursts.  I felt like I had to work a lot harder and it took much longer to catch my breath afterwards.

It sure felt good to break a good sweat after a few days off.

I’ve come to realize my stamina is the first thing to go whenever I take time off from working out…be it 2 weeks or even just 3 days.  It took me a long time to build it up to where I am today , but it disappears so quickly.

Lifes just unfair sometimes.

But I’ll get over it 🙂

I finally had a little extra time this morning to make exactly what I wanted for breakfast.  After a couple days of NuGo and GreensPlus bars eaten on the go, I was ready for something more up my alley in terms of breakfast.

I was feeling both cereal and oats and being someone who’s not likely to deny my cravings, I had both.

My usual oatbran, egg whites, and cottage cheese blend on the bottom. Barbara’s peanut butter puffins, kamut puffs, unsweetened almond milk, and fruit on the top.  I literally just combined two of my usual breakfasts into one.

The verdict?  Satisfaction.  Both cravings were fulfilled and I was good to go.

Speaking of breakfasts good to go, I have a friend who came to me for some ideas for quick, simple, and nutritious breakfasts that she can eat on the go.  Her exact words I believe were…”for young busy unhealthy-eating professionals.”

I’m more of a sit and enjoy type of girl when it comes to breakfasts, but there are always those days where I’d much rather catch a few extra Z’s and eat on the go.

What are some of your favorite quick and nutritious breakfasts that can be eaten on the go?

I’d love to hear your favorites!  I have a few faves and I’m planning on putting them together in a post later this week.  I’d love to feature yours as well!

22 Comments on “Breakfast On The Go”

  1. Stephanie says:

    Overnight oats is a definite favorite in our house! My husband and my two oldest daughters love them as much as I do! It’s such a simple breakfast- I usually make it in the evening after I’ve cleaned up from dinner. I love that it’s all ready to go when we get up in the morning- no muss, no fuss. And for a Mommy of 3 little ones that’s a must! I also love how healthy it is for my kids- no pop tarts in this house! We use organic oats, vanilla soy milk, a pinch of brown sugar, cinnamon, flaxseed mea and /or wheat germl, dried cranberries, blueberries, and cherries. YUM!!

  2. Oh I definitely hear you on the stamina and endurance front. I had to take some time off running because my ankle was starting to act up and I didn’t wanna push it, and when I started up again it was like having to start from scratch. Arrgh. SO frustrating. But I guess it gives you something to work at lol.

    Breakfasts on the go. Hmm. I’m more of a “sit and enjoy” breakfast person, and I’ll wake up extra early just so I don’t have to be in a rush… but some good ideas for quick breakfasts would be overnight oats, or cottage cheese, fruit, cereal, and nut butter? Orrr… waffles/pancakes/oatmeal made the day before and warmed up in the morning…

  3. I tend to lose stamina and fitness so quickly, too! I’m not sure if that’s normal or if it means I’m moving too quickly, but…oh, well.
    Gosh, I’m such a sit and enjoy kind of person for breakfast, too. I don’t even know what I would take if I had to literally be eating and going at the same time! Maybe some good bread toasted and made into a sandwich spread with PB & Banana? mm….doesn’t sound half bad 😉

  4. I freaking love peanut butter puffins! MMmm…

    My favorite on the go breakfast is peanut butter and banana on a whole wheat bagel. Delicious.

  5. Workouts are so strange sometimes. Some weeks I have to take off but I seem to come back stronger than when I left while other times I comje back feeling so weak. It goes day-to-day, too..so don’t worry, you’ll be back to normal in no time!

    My favorite to-go breakfast is overnight oats in a jar. Never fails. 🙂

  6. Jenny says:

    I love having both oats and cereal in the morning. I had that today 😉 Other days I fancy the overnight oaties 😀

  7. sisicheng126 says:

    Wow thanks for starting the quick breakfast discussions!! I guess I need to either make some the night before or wake up a little earlier just to enjoy my breakfast a little more! Lol

  8. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    I am the same when it comes to stamina! After maybe a year of hard work, I finally feel that I am able to workout and breathe at the same time:) but when I have a break from workouts my stamina disappears in a seconds (or I feel like that:).
    Breakfasts on the go…mmmh, I am usually more inclined to eat my breakfast calm and quiet, sitting and just devouring that bowl of oats:) But when I am in a hurry, banana with peanut butter, toast with hummus and veggies, oatmeal cakes or a smoothie are a way to go for me 🙂

    • kris says:

      Glad to know I’m not the only one! Hopefully one day we’ll be able to build up to the point where it doesn’t disappear so quickly 🙂
      Ooh oatmeal cakes sound fantastic!!

  9. ericascime says:

    I always have a smoothie when it is hot outside and when it is cold I love to grab some kind of muffin, granola bar, even a cookie if its healthy and I made it!

  10. I love making some pancakes for the week and grabbing them throughout the week!

  11. Oh girl, I am right there with you! My stamina goes out the window after only a few days off! Not so good for the ego when you’re doing the exact same workout that you DOMINATED last week and then your sucking wind this week! Blah!

    Love your breakfast mix! I’ve been out of fresh berries for a week and that’s about oh, 7 days too long! Need to get me some bloobs and steebies!

    I almost always enjoy a sit down breakfast in the morning, but when I know I’ll be short on time I like to rely on leftover pancakes, overnight oats, or pb and banana sandwiches for on the go!

    • kris says:

      I know right?? It gets so frustrating!
      Hopefully a trip to the farmers market with your fabulous packing skills is in the schedule soon! And nows the best time to stock up on these fresh berries!!


Leave a Reply

