Class of 2011

Congrats to all 2011 grads…high school OR college!  We’re talking about big accomplishments people!

Having graduated both high school and college, I’m not sure why it didn’t hit me until the past year or so that graduation is truly one of lifes biggest achievements.  I never really thought twice about it, but its something that you actually have to work hard at and for quite some time.  I mean…it takes 13+ years (if you count pre-k and kindergarten) to get your high school diploma! Talk about dedication.

Why are we talking about graduation might you ask?

Well, I spent last night and today celebrating my sisters high school graduation.

Last night we had dinner at Fogo de Chao, a churrascaria (brazilian steakhouse).  For a place that many call a meat eaters heaven, its surprisingly vegetarian friendly.  I don’t claim to be a vegetarian, as I’m not one to label my eating habits, but I do love veg friendly restaurants.

They whole place is all you can eat for once set price and you better believe I made more than one trip to their gourmet salad bar.  I would’ve taken a pic, but I’m not one who feels all that comfortable whipping out my camera to photograph a salad bar that sits directly in the middle of the restaurant surrounded by a whole slew of diners.  This link shows a picture almost identical to the one I ate from last night.

But who really cares to photograph a salad bar when you’ve go this.

This, my friends, is seriously one of the best breads ever.

Pão de Queijo.  Which is a popular cheese bread found in Brazil and neighboring countries. It’s not like any ordinary bread. Nope. It has a chewy texture, but surprisingly not from the cheese. Traditionally I believe it’s made with cassava starch, but here in the states I’m guessing more along the lines of tapioca flour.

I can eat this bread like there’s no tomorrow.

We rounded out the meal with my favorite course…dessert.

Tiramisu from WF’s to be exact.

If you’ve never tried this cake, get off your computer and run over to the store.  And I mean run in the literal form because it’ll take some heart pumping activity to burn it off.  But it’s so worth it.

After stuffing myself silly last night, we started the morning early with the commencement ceremony downtown.

When you have over 1,000 kids graduating, you might find yourself glazing over and cursing yourself for not bringing something along to do.  I could’ve knock out one of my class assignments in the time it took to call out everyones names. Actually I’d probably be thru and still have time to sit through the X, Y’s, and Z’s.


The commencement finally wrapped up and lots of pictures ensued before we headed over to lunch at Grill 19 were lots of good food was consumed.  Grill 19 is actually a part of a golf club, Coyote Ridge to be exact, and this place has the most amazing eats.  It could most definitely stand alone as just a restaurant.


So what else have I been doing other than eating?

I registered for scuba lessons today! I’ve never been before and I wanted to get certified for a special trip I’m going to be taking in July, which I absolutely cannot wait for.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Now for some strawberry bread-lovin. I recommend refrigeration or freezing of the bread if not entirely consumed in 30 hours or so. Apparently strawberries do not appreciate the TX summer heat and decided to head south. I went to take a bite this evening and it had gone sour. sad face. On the bright side I can make another one soon and attempt to put some of your great suggestions to action!

By the way, I realized I completely forgot to post directions for the baking of the bread!  I went back and re-added it.  I think some sleep is necessary to get my thoughts back on track.

Night oaties 🙂

What are your thoughts on graduation?

Have you ever been scuba diving?  

10 Comments on “Class of 2011”

  1. Congratulations to your sister!! I agree – graduating is always a big step and achievement, whether it’s middle school, high school or college. The tiramisu looks like a good way to honor that 😉
    I’ve never been scuba diving! I think it looks fun, but not for me at the same time 😛
    I refrigerate (or freeze) pretty much all of my baked goods in the summer. It’s just so hot and humid in the kitchen, I don’t expect stuff to stay fresh for long!

    • kris says:

      Thank you! 🙂
      I’m going to need to start refrigerating everything. I can always tell its warm in the kitchen when my coconut oil is completely liquified…

  2. Oh gosh… tiramisu has to be one of my favorite things EVER. It makes me weak in the knees 😀

    And congrats to your sister! I’ve never thought about how big of an accomplishment graduation is, but you’re right. I graduated high school forever ago, it seems, but I still remember it and it holds a special place in my heart. I love seeing other people’s graduation posts/stories because it brings back lots of good memories 🙂

    And I’ve never tried scuba diving because I’m not much of a water person. It looks like fun, though, and some of the things you see are absolutely beautiful! Hope you have a great time with it 😀

    • kris says:

      me toooo!

      thanks so much! 🙂 It brought back lots of fun memories for me as well. Senior year was my absolute favorite!

      I hope so too! I’m a little nervous about it…

  3. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Congrats to your sister!!! Graduation is a big step (even though I didn´t go to my own graduation, just didn´t feel all those “fancy” things around it:)
    I have never seen such a perfect tiramisu as the one you posted! Truly delicious 🙂
    Scuba diving? Wow, you are a sportsgirl! I have never tried it, but it sure is intriguing!

  4. sisicheng126 says:

    I think I know where you’ll be travelling to! Have funnnnn! I went scuba diving once in Bali, and I loved it!! Although touching some of the creatures under the sea feels weird, and I definitely felt a lot of pressure in my ears…maybe I didn’t learn to breathe properly…oh well let me know how the lessons go!!

    • kris says:

      Thank youu! 🙂 I bet it was magnificent looking in Bali!
      I’m really afraid of the pressure in my ears! I actually just picked up my scuba material and I have SO much stuff to study before getting certified. I feel like I’ve taken on another summer school class lol.

  5. […] mentioned Tiramisu the other day, and that started my gears turning. I’ve been thinking about it ever […]

  6. […] cheese ones are almost like the pan de queijo I mentioned a while back from Fogo de Chao. I think I may actually like these more since they’re less […]


Leave a Reply

