Needs Some Lovin

What a whirlwind weekend. I’m glad it’s finally Monday afternoon. Never thought I’d ever hear see myself say that!

Last nights dessert…

was this morning’s breakfast.

I love versatile food.  Well now that I think about it…all food is versatile.  Save for a few.  I’d rather not eat a salad for breakfast.  Although I know quite a few who probably would.

It’s been a very long time since I last baked anything and my little food baby so kindly reminded me why.  Less than 30 mins out of the oven and 1/4 of my bread was already missing.  It was like deja vu, except not.

I couldn’t help it…the smell was just wafting through the air.  And it could’ve been the fact that I was kinda, sorta hovering over the bread and inhaling its sweet strawberry scent.

The verdict? It was good, but not quite OMG good. I think it needs some lovin to get it just right.  I’ve got a few ideas up my sleeves, but I haven’t had the opportunity to test it out yet. I think strawberry is just a hard flavor to really excentuate without adding anything artificial to it.

Needs Some Lovin Strawberry Bread

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup spelt four
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 2 T ground flax meal
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 cup EVCO (extra virgin coconut oil), melted
  • 1/4 cup cactus honey powder**
  • 1/4 cup organic sugar
  • 2 organic large brown eggs
  • 1/3 non-fat greek yogurt (i’ll definitely be using strawberry yogurt in the future to up that strawberry flava)
  • 2 T unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 1/2 cup fresh strawberries, puree in the blender until almost smooth
  • 2 t vanilla extract

**I was just testing the effects of cactus honey powder, but any sugar can be used.  If you love it sweet, I’d recommend upping the sugar content to 1 cup total. And maybe sprinkling some turbinado sugar on top before baking.

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In medium bowl combine flours, baking soda, flax meal, and salt; set to side.

Whisk together sugar and coconut oil. Add eggs, one at a time, whisking well after each addition. Mix in yogurt, almond milk, pureed strawberries and vanilla.  Fold in flour mixture and mix until just incorporated.

Pour into greased loaf pan and bake 50-55 mins or until toothpick comes out clean.

********

UPDATE: I recommend refrigeration or freezing of the bread if not entirely consumed in 30 hours or so. Apparently strawberries do not appreciate the TX summer heat and causes the bread to go sour if left out at room temp!

********

This bread also goes great with cream cheese, but alas I had none, so jam it was.  Not complaints there though!

I very much enjoyed my bread this morning with some homemade strawberry jam from my sweet neighbor.  She actually also brought over a loaf of store-bought strawberry almond bread as well and that was what sparked my interest in creating my own less butter-fied and more natural version.

The bread was good, but from the color and taste I could tell there was quite a bit of extra stuff goin on in there.  More than I would like to know about, since I had more than my fair share of it.

What can I say?… I go weak at the knees for baked goods 😉

Do you like to recreate foods or baked goods? 

Any ideas or suggestions on how to up the flavor of my strawberry bread?

13 Comments on “Needs Some Lovin”

  1. czechvegan says:

    I suggest adding some cocoa or carob powder plus maybe some raw cocoa beans. And cinnamon doesn´t hurt either:)
    I love baked goods and I have a few faves that I do over and over…But it´s been so long since I last baked!

  2. your bread looks wonderful! and thanks for all the awesome comments you always leave for me 🙂

  3. Ooo I’ve never actually thought to make strawberry bread. Banana bread is one of my favorites, so I usually stick to that. And lately I’ve been baking cookies like nobody’s business.

    As for upping the flavor, chocolate always helps 😀 And using strawb yogurt would also probably help. You could also try adding some strawberry jam to the batter.

  4. This bread looks wonderful. Wish I’d found it earlier today to make! I have never heard of cactus honey powder, though. Very intrigued!

    • kris says:

      It’s a pretty new to me product as well. I’ve had it sitting around for a while, but I finally decided to use it. I’m pretty sure its just a solid-granulated version of agave nectar. Some say its 100% honey though. I haven’t done enough research to back up my statement yet. i guess in this case sugar is sugar…

  5. Kalli says:

    Love your bread! so versatile to use as dessert and in the morning!


Leave a Reply

