4am

Is what time I went to bed last night, er, rather this morning.  So this am required a cuppa this.

Half-caf of course.

Followed by a quick breakfast I threw together in a matter of mins.

Cereal re-mixx. A little bit of everything.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I dub today Serious Sunday.

Why?

I wanted to touch briefly on the recent E. Coli outbreak in Europe.  Has anyone been following the latest events? They death toll is up to 22. It’s some truly scary stuff!

I know it’s in Europe for the most part, but it got me thinking about how clean our fruits and veggies really are.  I’ve always been a bit skeptical about salad bars (even whole foods!) and how clean their foods really are because if you think about it…once veggies and fruits are washed, they don’t last long and rot very easily.  And when we go out to restaurants, I doubt any of those fruits or veggies are EVER washed.

What are your thoughts about the e. coli outbreak or outbreaks in general?

What’s your take on fruit+veggies?  Wash it or you don’t really care?  I wash.  Call me crazy (my family certainly does!), but sometimes I even wash those greens in the salad boxes that say they’ve been triple washed.

14 Comments on “4am”

  1. Peggy says:

    We get most of our vegetables from a CSA so we usually only do a quick rinse – but after following the e. coli outbreak in Europe, it’s definitely a scary thing =)

  2. Stephanie says:

    I’m with you- I wash everything! I even wash watermelon,bananas, melon, and pineapple before I cut them- because the bacteria can be transferred by the knife. And I too wash the prewashed salad and greens. We also get or veggies from a CSA, but I was those too because you just never know. But you’re right- it’s really scary!

    • kris says:

      You’re so right! I have to admit though…A lot of times I’m lazy and don’t wash those thinker skinned fruits like pineapple and bananas.

  3. Oh gosh, have I been living in a cave?! I haven’t heard anything about the outbreak! Of course…I haven’t really turned the TV on much all weekend, save for the Bruins game yesterday :X but…I should take note. i confess; I’m not very good about washing my produce :X I always think of how gross it must be, though…I know there has been more than one instance of me picking up an apple and putting it back down because it didn’t “pass inspection.” how many hands have touched my apples?! eeee!

    • kris says:

      My guess is you missed the e.coli news because you’ve probably been out and about doing exciting and life changing things and perhaps also baking up something spectacular 🙂

  4. The E.coli thing is pretty scary. I don’y wash my salad green that come in a box just because I’m too lazy to whip out the salad spinner most of the time, but I wash everything else.. even bananas and melons. Never know what that stuff’s touched getting from the farm to my home!

  5. czechvegan says:

    I always wash my fruits and veggies! You never know who touched it or where it was lying:) The E.Coli outbreak is scary, and Germany is really close to my country, so we are a bit affraid, I won´t lie to you…

  6. kat says:

    The ecoli outbreak has really been freaking me out! With the amount of produce I eat, it could come from any of them, so now I have become super paranoid about washing my products!! I totally want to grow my own products even more now!!

  7. I had no idea about another E Coli outbreak! 22? Oh my gosh!

    I am soooooo lazy when it comes to washing my produce…unless the stuff I get from the farmer’s market is VISIBLY dirty (and I mean, we’re talking more than just a sprinkling of sand…cuz you know, that’s just extra protein)! Well, at least I’m still alive…for now!


Leave a Reply

