My First WIAW

As I mentioned earlier today, I’ve decided to partake in the WIAW fun 🙂

This morning started out with a date in between my PiYo and Cardio Strength classes.  No, not THAT kind of date…this kinda date

Dates are my energy booster and they never fail me.  Especially when they’re stuffed with some sort of nut butter.

After gym-time I went home for my real breakfast…

The usual…except this time it was ALL oatbran – 1/3 cup to be exact.  Topped off with almond butter & jelly and a sprinkle of summers finest…Raspberries.  I’ve been in a raspberry kinda mood lately.

I felt today was a special day being my first WIAW so I finished up breakfast with some cafe con leche unsweetened almond milk with 1 drop of liquid vanilla stevia.

I kept it more along the lines of a half-caf as you may remember what happens to me when I drink fully caffeinated coffee.

Much procrastination and some school stuff later, I made lunch.  Today’s star…Tofu!

Just a quick sear of the firm tofu on both sides in a dry skillet and I was ready to plate up.  On the right we have the more savory sandwich…ezeikel tortilla spread with cedars all natural sundried tomato & basil hommus topped with tofu and avocado.  On the left we have the sweeter sandwich…ezeikel toast spread with almond butter, tofu, and crofter’s strawberry jelly (a la Jess – minus the bbq sauce).  Both were delicious and I couldn’t decide which I liked more.

***I love this particular hummus because it’s tasty, oil free, and lower in calories.

I knoww…calories schmalories.  But i figured if there’s a lower fat content than I can have more of it 😛 ***

***Oh, and this was my first time trying Crofters jams and I’ve decided that when it comes to ‘just fruit spreads’ I prefer St. Dalfour***

To complement my jekyll & hyde sweet & savory sandwiches, I had some sweet sweet bell peppers with some more hummus.

And a mini handful of green tea pumpkin seeds.

Some time before dinner some quantities, quite large as a matter of fact, of rainier cherries and watermelon were consumed.

Am I the only strange-ling who prefers the watermelon closest to the rind?…I love sweets and all, but for some reason when it comes to watermelon, I prefer the less sweet parts by the rind.

Finally, it’s dinner time!

Grilled corn, grilled pumpkin, steamed-in-parchment-paper-on-the-grill black cod, cauliflower, and some unpictured brown rice.

I apologize for the unattractive photo.  I was kinda hungry and in a hurry to eat…

Dessert was some more close-to-the-rind watermelon, some homemade kale chips, and a block of of dark chocolate.

Lindt 90%…One of my absolute faves!  My other fave is Godiva 85%.

There!…My first official WIAW  🙂

I feel like my days, especially during the warmer months, are heavily laced with fruits.  What do you feel like you usually eat the most of everyday?  Or is your diet generally more balanced?

11 Comments on “My First WIAW”

  1. That sandwich looks like it’s missing some BBQ seasoning 😉 hehe.
    Your meals all look so good! I could definitely get along with you 😛 And so glad to see another Cedar’s lover. I’ve never seen that particular kind before but I have never liked Tribe, Sabra, etc. that seem to be really popular. For me it’s all about smooth, creamy Cedar’s.
    I tend to eat a lot more fruit and other fresh produce in summer, too. I’m not sure what I eat the most of every day, though!
    Loved your WIAW, glad you joined in on the fun 🙂

  2. I love avocado and hummus sandwiches, I also like to add slices of tomatoes on top, but I will try tofu next time 🙂 dates stuffed with nut butter? What a brilliant idea! I will try next time instead of coconut some nut butter. I love kale chips! I make mine with little bit of agave nectar, lemon juice, sea salt and olive oil.

    • kris says:

      Yes, definitely try it with nut butter! It takes dates to a whole other level. I bet it’s great with coconut too 😛

      I use the lazy mans approach when it comes to kale chips. I just use my olive oil spray and than sprinkle on some garlic powder. I’m sure the lemon juice and agave nectar give it a sweet and refreshing flavor!

  3. czechvegan says:

    Great you jumped on the WIAW bandwagoon, I really enjoy those posts!! Your meals look great, I love raspberries (or any kind of berries) in my oatmeal:)
    I eat extreme amounts of fruit and veggies daily, together with some grain and THE oatmeal – my daily must 🙂

  4. I knoww…calories schmalories. But i figured if there’s a lower fat content than I can have more of it <–Omg, I do the same thing all the time! Haha!

    I just realized the other day that I seem to be eating a crap-ton of fruit the past few days…juicy watermelon being the top of my consumption! You can have my close to the rind parts when I'm finished! 😉

  5. […] not really sure what happened between my 1st WIAW post and this one, my second. But I’m sure glad to be joining in on all the fun […]


Leave a Reply

