Golf + Snacks

Day’s like today remind me of the reasons why I don’t play golf anymore…

I spent my morning/afternoon playing caddy to my sister at a women’s golf qualifier in our area.  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t exhausted.  I guess carrying 40 lbs on your back can do that to you.  Who thought that it would a smart idea to carry golf clubs on your back?

Well, regardless of the bag, I’d be tired anyways because walking up and down hills with the sun beating down on you, with raging humidity, kinda just purely sucks the life out of you.  These are they days its easiest to get dehydrated and not even know it.  Good thing I have my Camelbak!  You never think it’ll happen because, come on, you’re just walking around, but before you know it, it’s been over 4 and a half hours and you’ve somehow walked 6-8 miles (depending on the course).

It’s a fun sport and all, and I feel like golfers have some of the strongest mentalities out there, but it’s just too time consuming of a game.

One of the things I miss most about golf are the fun snacks we used to always stash in our golf bags.  My favorites have always been clif kid’s zbars, cheese or peanut butter crackers, granola, and fruit.  It’s always fun trying to balance an apple on your golf bag when it’s your turn to hit and coming back to find that its fallen on the ground and has dirt all over it…

Today I brought along an almond butter & jelly tortilla sandwich, brownie zbar (unpictured), and chocolate chip snackimals.

Can you tell I’m a kid at heart?  Kiddie snacks are always more fun.  And better tasting 😛

Now I’m home and I’ve got a paper and case study staring me down, but I’m so drained of mental energy I have no motivation to do either.

PSDo you like my mani?

I got raspberry red 🙂

I couldn’t help myself…they were just so plump!

Do you currently play any sports?  Or did you use to play any sports that you now miss or wish you still continued?  I used to be on the swim team in high school.  Seriously one of the best forms of exercise!

9 Comments on “Golf + Snacks”

  1. yikes; i don’t think i could deal with carrying around 40 pounds in the sun, heat and humidity for my sister 😛 you’re a kinder sibling than i! haha.
    I’m a kid at heart, too. I adore those snackimals. I wish I was givent hose when I was a kid!
    Sports. I definitely consider horseback riding a sport, just not in the traditional sense!

    • kris says:

      haha, I’m thinking of keeping it to a one time thing…

      me too! I would’ve totally been all over it.
      Horseback riding is definitely a sport! You have to be super athletic in order to do it!

  2. “PS – Do you like my mani?”—OMG yes and i love raspberries. those look like delicacies of raspberries, too. PERFECT!

    and i am so glad my post resonated with you today. Good 🙂

  3. czechvegan says:

    Wow, golf sounds like such a hardcore sport when you put it like that! I love your manicure! I always get the same “shade” when raspberries are in season 🙂
    I also used to be on swim team and I did dancing and running. Now those are just my leisure activities, nothing “professional” 🙂

    • kris says:

      Wasn’t swim team just the greatest workout? I never did dance when I was young, but I kind of wish I had..I’m sure it would’ve helped me greatly with my flexibility, or now inflexibility..

      • czechvegan says:

        Yes, swimming is the best! Dancing is really great for flexibility, as well as yoga. For me dancing amazingly improved my coordination but most important – it helped to come out of my comfort zone and became more extroverted, more easygoing 🙂

  4. Anna says:

    I love kid snacks! Probably because I’m super-immature, haha. But I’m always the person who puts her raspberries on her fingers and eats them off, so I love that you do it too!


Leave a Reply

