‘Outrageous’ Waffles

Last night before going to bed I was watching Outrageous Foods on the Food Network and they were featuring a restaurant that paired all their foods with gelato.  Now, that’s my kind of restaurant! Too bad it’s nowhere near me…

I thought their steak, egg, and coffee dish was pretty unique.  They served the steak over an egg with a large scoop of coffee gelato next to it.  Apparently it was amazing.  What really caught my eye though was their sausage and pancakes. Did someone say pancakes??  They served up sausage gelato (ew?) with pancakes.  I’m sure to all those who enjoy sausage, that dish is probably delicious.  And according to all those who tried it on the show, it was ‘outrageous‘.

Since I don’t eat sausage, I just had to re-create it and make my own version.

Kris’ ‘Outrageous’ Waffles

Note to self: Don’t use frozen strawberries as topping in the future.  It doesn’t make for a good photo.

Regardless of the frozen strawberries, these were ahmazing.  I loved the coolness and creaminess of the ‘gelato’ with the piping hot waffle.  Such a good and tasty contrast.

____________________________________

I’m currently debating going to the Byron Nelson (sergio’s in the lead!) or staying home and getting my first paper done/going for my usual Saturday run.  My assignment is due tomorrow night, but I won’t have time to do it tonight or tomorrow afternoon/evening.  I might just have to stay home…gahh.  Let’s hope I can get in work mode this afternoon and bang out that paper.

8 Comments on “‘Outrageous’ Waffles”

  1. Sarah says:

    Looks good!!

  2. czechvegan says:

    Wow, sausage gelato? That sounds definitely interesting 🙂 but those waffles looks great!

  3. wow seriously? sausage gelato? hm…not my thing. I like your idea so much better. thanks for checking out my blog!!

  4. ew, sausage gelato? hrmmm….not too sure on that one. I don’t eat it, but I know what it tastes like and don’t dislike it…and I still find the idea kinda odd :\ Oh, well…I can’t knock it til I try it, right? (…even though I probably won’t be?)
    Anyways. I think I’d prefer your gelato & waffle, hands down 😉

    • kris says:

      That was my first thought too! True that…shouldn’t knock it til we try it. My guess is it’ll be sweet with a salty kick. Kinda like salty and sweet popcorn? Who knows…
      haha, thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

