Quinoa, meet Oats

My summer is officially over.  Or at least thats how it feels right now, since summer classes started today.  At least they’re online and I don’t have to actually go into school everyday and sit in a classroom.  But I guess that wouldn’t really matter today since it’s STILL dark, dreary, and raining outside.  It’s literally so dark it feels like it’s 8pm.   Thats how many days in a row already?  4 or 5?

Thunderstorms called for oats once again.  Today I introduced quinoa to my typical oats.

The quinoa added a great texture to the oats and its also great source of protein!

Quinoa, meet Oats – Oatmeal 

  • ~ 1/4 cup oat bran
  • ~ 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 organic egg whites
  • 1/3 cup cooked quinoa
  • 3 heaping t organic low fat cottage cheese

Cook oat bran and rolled oats in water and almond milk over medium high heat until 3/4 of the way absorbed.  Stir in egg whites until incorporated.  Lower heat to medium and add in cooked quinoa and cottage cheese until incorporated.

I didn’t add too much quinoa into my oats this time because I wasn’t sure of the outcome, but I loved it, so next time I’ll probably take out the rolled oats and add in more quinoa. This was a super filling breakfast and a good and healthy start to the day to get back on track considering what I had after dinner last night.

We picked up this cookies and cream ice cream cake for my sisters birthday from Whole Foods.  It’s all melted because the people at Dicks Last resort didn’t put it in the freezer.  You think they did it on purpose because they’re supposed to be ‘Dicks’?  Whatever the reason, it was still soooo good I had two slices.

I guess now that I’m back on track, I should be off to get organized and figure out what books and such I need for my classes and maybe start doing some reading.  Keyword: maybe.  Which most likely means not today 😉

Lets get this week starteddd!

2 Comments on “Quinoa, meet Oats”

  1. czechvegan says:

    Oats and quinoa are such a good combo! We are also having so many thunderstorms lately, but I am really enjoying them:) YOu have summer classes? My semester ends in June and then I have summer holiday, but it is probably different in every country.. At least you can do the classes from home, it sounds quite comfortable 🙂

    • kris says:

      I know, right? I’m loving it!

      We can opt to take classes during the summer if we want to. Usually I don’t, but I’ll be taking a few classes this summer because I was hoping to have a lighter workload later this fall. Yeah, I love getting to take them at home 🙂


Leave a Reply

