Pink Waffles

Soo many random errands to accomplish today and are totally making me all stressed out, but first on the list was waffles 🙂  Can’t skip the most important meal of the day!  Last time I made waffles, they were good, but just not filling enough.  So I decided I needed to do something to bulk it up and make it more satisfying.  It definitely bulked up! 

I guess I poured way too much batter into the iron.  This thing was steaming like crazy and quite the gooey mess.  But it made a delicious waffle.

The cottage cheese crisped up and added an extra nice crunch to the outside of the waffle, while the strawberries softened up on the inside creating a pretty pink color and adding a subtle sweetness.

Pink (on the inside) Waffles

  • 1/2 cup kodiak cakes mix
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 heaping T cottage cheese
  • 1 T ground flax
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup diced strawberries
Mix kodiak cake mix with water until fairly combined than add the rest of the ingredients stirring gently to combine. Pour in waffle iron.

So much to accomplish today yet I don’t want to start.   Plus I have a couple friends coming to town this weekend and I want to make/bake them something yummy, but I haven’t decided what yet. Any suggestions??  Any would be so greatly appreciated!!  I need something thats delicious, yet easy to make with a fairly simple ingredients list.

Off to take on those errands!  Have a great afternoon! 🙂
6 Comments on “Pink Waffles”

  1. looks seriously delicious and I love cottage cheese in pancakes/waffles. Adds such a nice punch of protein.

  2. ahhh i want that waffle! i’ve heard such good things about the kodiak mix, but have yet to try it for myself. certainly looks like it would make things simpler at the very least 😉
    One cookie I’ve baked that has impressed everyone I’ve given them to were Vegan Cookies Invade your Cookie Jar’s samoas! The Baking Stone has the recipe on their page if you don’t have the book: http://the-baking-stone.com/2011/03/12/vegan-samoa-cookies/

    • kris says:

      I’m literally about to start making those samoas! They look so delicious and I can’t wait to taste it. Thank you, thank you, thank you for your suggestion!!

      I highly recommend the kodiak mix. Its so incredibly simple, and for waffle fans like us, it makes life so much easier. Just add water and its ready to be cooked!
      I’m sure we could easily make this mix at home since the ingredients list is fairly simple (100% whole grain wheat flour, 100% whole grain oat flour, non-fat dry milk, dry honey , leavening (sodium bicarbonate, sodium aluminum phosphate, monocalcium phosphate), egg whites, salt). I just need to figure out the ratios first 🙂 But until then, i’ll just have to buy it.

  3. birdie to be says:

    Yummy! These look devine!


Leave a Reply

