Oats…

I have missed you!  

It’s been so long since I’ve had hot oatmeal that I almost, (but not quite 🙂 ) forgot how good it is.  Sometimes it’s just too hot to eat a bowl of steaming oats, especially here in TX when its 90 degrees in April.  But lucky me woke up to 50 degree weather this morning and was really craving for a hot bowl of oatmeal.  And that is exactly what I had.

Bound to Hold You Over Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 organic egg white
  • 2-3 spoonfuls of organic low-fat cottage cheese
Cook 1st three ingredients until two-thirds of the way done.  Than lower heat to medium-low and add in egg white and stir for about a minute and a half or until incorporated.  Lastly, lower heat to low and stir in cottage cheese until the curds appear to have melted into the oatmeal.  Top as desired.

I topped mine with blueberries, mango, raspberries, a small dollop of cashew butter, and a sprinkle of chia.  This bowl of oats was probably one of the best I’ve ever had.  I enjoyed the sweetness from my fruit and the light, but noticeable, salty-ness from the cottage cheese.

Hopefully this cooler weather sticks around so I can eat this again, but I doubt it will.  I’ll either have to eat it and sweat…or I can somehow come up with a cold version of this, which I’m already sort of doing in my mind right now.  My brains churning and I think I’ve already come up with the ‘bound to hold you over oats’ refrigerator version.

What’s your favorite way to eat oats?

6 Comments on “Oats…”

  1. Devan says:

    your oats look so good!
    i really love oatbran, with protien powder

  2. That looks delicious! It’s fairly similar to my usual breakfast…pre-cooked steel cut oats (which I keep in the fridge), frozen berries (microwaved for 1 min.), 3/4 cup cottage cheese or Greek yogurt, nut butter, and TONS of cinnamon!!

    It’s nice to hear and see that other people like cottage cheese with their oats. Most people think I’m crazy. But I tell them, don’t knock it till you’ve tried it…cause it’s soo yummy.

    • kris says:

      thank you! 🙂 Your breakfast sounds delicious too! I lovee cinnamon, but I always forget to use it.

      Right?? It just goes SO well in so many breakfast items. I love it when it gets all warm and melts. delicious.

  3. […] by adding in 2 egg whites and a couple spoonfuls of cottage cheese.  It takes under 5 mins to cook up old fashioned rolled oats or oat bran and only a couple secs to load them with any toppings your […]

  4. OVERNIGHT OATS!!!!!!!! 😀 😉 ;D


Leave a Reply

