Getting that Protein

Afternoooon Oaties!

I had some difficulties getting up this morning, but once I was up, its been good.  I missed my PiYo class this morning because I just could not get myself out of bed.  But I did manage to make it to my cardio strength class (one of my favorites!)  and break a great sweat.

I’ve been digging my carb-y breakfasts lately so today’s carb was…a sprouted bagel!  Half a sprouted bagel to be exact.  Topped with my homemade cashew butter, some low fat cottage cheese (for protein!) and a couple banana slices.  I know it sounds a bit odd with the cottage cheese in there, but it all actually went together pretty well.  It was sweet with a hint of savory from the cottage cheese.

My bagel with a nice large TD Ameritrade (my brother works there – hence the cup) cup of joe.

While eating breakfast I came across a pretty interesting article of 5 ways in motivate our metabolism.  I don’t know how effective they really are, but these tips are good for our health anyways (minus the drinking cold water– I don’t think that one is too good for our health, especially in the morning).  These are all very simple tid-bits that we can all easily incorporate into our daily activities like standing up more often when we are sitting down for long periods of time, or trying to get to bed earlier each night.  I think the one I have the most difficulty doing is getting enough protein.  Women should be getting between 0.54 and 1 gram protein per pound of body weight.  I know I definitely don’t get that much in every day.

Since I didn’t make it to my PiYo class this morning I’m heading to the gym again in a bit with my sister to go through her workout.  She has a special workout for her golfing so we’ll be working doing lots of core and flexibility with some strength and legs exercises thrown in as well.

What are your favorite ways to incorporate your daily protein intakes?  I usually try to get a larger intake at breakfast (smoothies and pancakes) after I just finished working out so that I can repair/build my muscles.

6 Comments on “Getting that Protein”

  1. Heather @ kissmybroccoli says:

    I love making “protein pancakes” by just adding a couple scoops of protein powder to a just add water pancake mix! And eggs, yogurt, and cottage cheese are some of my favorite high protein foods! I seriously couldn’t live without eggs!

    • kris says:

      Eggs are a staple for me too…they’re just so versatile and easy to cook. I love the protein powder in pancake mix idea! can’t get much simpler than that and guaranteed delicious!

  2. czechvegan says:

    I try to eat legumes everyday, as I heard they are a great source of protein. So I have some lentils or chickpeas in my lunch and I make a kidney beans spread that I love and put on my whole wheat bread I often eat for dinner together with a huge salad. Oh and I love oatmeal, so I try to put some protein in it every morning.

    • kris says:

      I think I want to try this kidney bean paste you’re talking about. I love kidney beans and it sounds good!

      • czechvegan says:

        It is pretty easy to make on your own. Drain canned beans and put them in a bowl together with spoonful of olive oil (or another oil you prefer, unrefined and cold pressed preferebly), add fresh basil or other herb that smells good to you, I also love to add garlic to make it more “intense” 🙂 And then blend, blend and blend with a blender until it is totally smooth or you can leave small bits of kindey beans unblended. To make it completely smooth takes like 1-2 minutes, so nothing time consuming! Sometimes I use also fava beans or other kinds, but I like kidney beans the most 🙂


Leave a Reply

