‘Stuffed’ Once More

Happy Mothers day to all you fabulous mothers out there, including mine!!  I didn’t get to spend the day with my momma today since she’s out of town, but we’ll celebrate when she gets back 🙂 .  I plan on baking something fun and momma-ish.  I have no idea what, but I’ll think of something sweet and delicious that just screams out momma.

Still on a ‘stuffed‘ roll since yesterday, I started my lovely day with a stuffed buckwheat bake.  I  followed Kath’s recipe, this time making sure to halve the ingredients for 1 serving, and took out the cocoa powder and maple syrup, and subbed unsweetened berry applesauce for the banana.  Than I poured half of the batter into a ramekin, added 1.5 teaspoons of low fat cottage cheese, spread it out a little, and added a dollop of sunflower seed butter, then topped it with the remaining batter.  I started with 1 min 30 seconds in the micro, but the batter was still gooey so I added 15 seconds, and than another 15 seconds for a total of 2 mins.  The cottage cheese bubbled up and ran down the sides so I suggest putting a plate under the ramekin.  But it made for an even more doughy bake than usual.  Score! 😛    I know you’re probably thinking that may just be the oddest combo ever.  But don’t knock it til you try it!  Although I do have to admit I have some pretty different taste buds than many people…

I topped the bake off with strawberry banana soft serve (1/2 frozen banana, 2 frozen strawberries, and a tiny slash of almond milk processed in the vita mix).

Isn’t the pink just so suiting for mothers day?  I felt like it was missing something though…

There!  Some toasted coconut…Much better.

What a breakfast.  The contrast of the cold soft serve with the warm bake was just fantastic!  It was the perfect start to my glorious day.

It powered me through my paper and before I knew it, it was lunch time.  I was feeling sushi today and that is exactly what I had.  Some brown rice salmon avocado sushi from Whole Foods.  My fave.

Followed up with some of Barbara’s newest puffin cereal, peanut butter and chocolate, for dessert.  YUM.

And you know what else made my day so glorious?? I finished and submitted my last paper and presentation of the semester.  I’m officially FREEEEEEEEEEEE!!!  Well, for two weeks.  But I’m going enjoy these two weeks like no other.

To celebrate finishing the semester I broke out the food processor and whipped up a batch of cashew butter (my current fave 🙂 )  and some chocolate chip cookie dough balls by the brilliant Angela of Oh She Glow’s.

These dough balls were perfect in my leftover strawberry soft serve which I had after my Pei Wei dinner.

Btw, did you know that you can get your protein steamed at Pei Wei?  I use to hardly ever eat there before because their foods were so heavy on the sauces and everything was basically fried.  They now offer the option to get your protein ‘stock velveted’ where they swap out the oil and cook it in a stock.  I love spicy foods and always get the ‘Pei Wei spicy’ with shrimp and brown rice.  I ask for my shrimp to be steamed and for the sauce to be on the side.  It may seem like it would be tasteless, but it is the opposite.  The shrimp is really sweet and I can dip it in the sauce if I feel like it.  That way the rice and shrimp are not literally swimming in the sauce and you can save over 250 calories.  Its a win win.

I’m off to enjoy my first night of post finals freedom!  I sense a mini spoonful or two of cashew butter in my near future 😉  Toodles!

Leave a Reply

