Pancakes of Champions

Afternoooon!  Sorry for being MIA yesterday.  I was on the go all day and when I finally did get home I had some intense paper writing to do.  Whew, so glad I’m finally done with that.  Well almost.  After tomorrow night, I’ll officially be done with two of my spring courses.  I think that calls for some baking celebrating!

This morning started with breakfast and it was definitely the breakfast pancakes of champions.  Protein pancakes.  These pancakes are delicious and nutritious.

Protein Pancakes – The Pancakes of Champions (serves 1) – recipe can easily be doubled

  • 1/4 cup spelt flour (don’t have spelt?…oat or buckwheat flour works just as well!)
  • 1/4 cup organic low fat cottage cheese
  • 4-5 tablespoons organic egg whites or 1 whole egg
  • 1 tsp ground flax
  • 1-2 tsp vietnamese cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
Mix all ingredients together until combined with a spoon or whisk.  Heat nonstick pan to medium heat.  Spoon into pan and cook about 3 mins on each side.  The batter does not really bubble so once the pancake no longer sticks to the pan it should be ready to be flipped.

Without toppings 1 serving of these pancakes has just 245 calories, 3.5 g of fat, 0.8 g saturated fats, 0.8 g sugar, and 20.9 g protein.  Double this recipe for just 490 calories and almost 42 grams of protein.

The pancake batter is easily adjusted to your taste.  Try adding agave, maple syrup, or mashed banana to sweeten it up.  Or if you’re more of a fillings-type person (blueberry, coconut, chocolate chip…), go ahead and mix em right in!  This batter is highly versatile and if it gets too dry just add some more egg whites.  My favorite way to eat them is just with a dollop of ‘cream’ (aka greek yogurt mixed with honey or agave) and strawberries.

Protein Pancakes with a side of ‘cream’ and strawberries

I went loco yesterday and bought 6 boxes of organic strawberries at whole foods.  They were on sale for only $1.99 and so sweet.  I just couldn’t pass them up.  Soo, I’ll be eating loads of strawberries for the next couple days, but no complaints there 🙂  I just lovee strawberry season!

It is absolutely beautiful out today so I think I’m going to take advantage of our clear skys and perhaps go for a run.  I hear the storms will be blowing in tomorrow and our skys will turn grey again.  Have a great day and make it an active one! 🙂

2 Comments on “Pancakes of Champions”

  1. I love protein pancakes. This looks like a great recipe. I’ll have to try it. Every ingredient is so nutritious! I just made pancakes with quinoa flour for the first time today. They were pretty tasty!


Leave a Reply

