New Find

Today pretty much started as a normal Monday with breakfast and then I was off to they gym for a quick mile warm-up plus a SSS (strength, stability, stretch) class.  I made sure to eat breakfast before heading to my workout since I’ve noticed that I have a lot more energy when I eat beforehand.  I had the same breakfast as yesterday (pretty boring, but just as delicious!), with the exception of fewer berries and more banana slices.  I only had 15 mins to fix and eat breakfast since I decided to hit the snooze button 3 times too many.  Seems to happen quite often…

I’ve really been struggling to keep my focus on my classes as the end is nearing and I’m only 13 days out from my last final.  Woohoo!  I can already feel summer creeping up on me.  So naturally I took a break from daydreaming studying and went to whole foods to pick up some groceries for the week.  And guess what I found??  An ice cream that boasts only 150 calories.  For a whole pint!!  I thought I was dreaming when I saw it.  Of course I just had to try it.  As soon as I got home I broke it out and dug in.

Arctic Zero – Coffee Flavor

Can you believe it has less than 150 calories for the whole pint??

The texture is definitely a little off.  It’s more of a sorbet/icy texture than it is creamy.  And it has a sort of gummy residue when melting.  I’m guessing its from the xanthan gum?  And the fact that it has zero fat.  It tasted like coffee, but it just wasn’t what I was expecting.  I can’t say that I was disappointed though because I wasn’t expecting too much out of something that only has 37 calories for a full half-cup .  I’d like to say I’m actually impressed by how few calories there are and the fact that there are 4 grams of protein in a single serving.  Unless I was really watching my caloric intake extremely closely, I probably won’t be getting it again anytime soon.  I’m going to go for the real stuff 🙂  But it was definitely fun to try something new!  I’m still looking forward to trying one of those So Delicious “ice cream” products.  They just look so delicious!  I couldn’t help it – I just had to say it. 😉

Time to make dinner.  Sloppy joes and sweet potato wedges are whats on the menu tonight!

Leave a Reply

