A Weekend Off-line

I don’t do it too often, but this weekend I decided to just unplug and take some time away from my laptop. Sometimes it’s nice to be internet free and just enjoy life without constantly going online and facing that computer screen.

I’ll admit I didn’t go 100% computer free. It was actually a lot harder than I thought! I ended up checking a couple emails and ordering some textbooks for my upcoming school semester. But it was still nice to spend so much time away from my computer, especially now that I’m in between semesters and theres no school to worry about.

Since I got most everything I needed to do finished earlier in the week, it was nice to just hang around with no plans, see friends, watch some tv, read, and just do whatever I wanted whenever I wanted.

My weekend started off with a lovely bowl of pb and jelly. In smoothie form.

I just blended together some frozen blueberries and cherries (I froze some fresh ones the other day – those are the best!) with a cup of unsweetened almond milk, ice cubes, 1/2 T peanut flour and the outcome was this pretty purple smoothie. Topped it off with some blueberry muffin pieces and a light sprinkle of peanut flour.

I think by now, most of you know that I have a slight obsession with pb + jelly and will eat it in any way shape or form. From cookies to oatmeals to smoothies 🙂

It was one of those weekends this weekend. Where my stomach was a bottomless pit and just couldn’t be satiated no matter how hard I tried. I finally decided to just listen to my body, so this weekend was full of good eats 😛

Some foodie highlights this weekend:

Lots of grilling

Yummy baked goods

Many(!) handfuls of fun snacks

Even though I was technically ‘unplugged‘ over the weekend, it didn’t keep me from thinking about moving to a self-hosted site. I’ve been thinking about it for a while and I’m still fairly new to the blogging world and not all that tech savvy so any advice would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

Alright, the day is still young and I ‘ve still got a couple things I want to do today so I’ll catch you all later! Have a great Sunday 🙂

Do you ever take time away from your computer? 

What do you love to do on the weekends?

Any advice on self-hosting a blog?


6 Comments on “A Weekend Off-line”

  1. Self hosting is definitely the way to go! I actually help bloggers out for a small fee, so hit me up if you are interested!

  2. It’s definitely hard to unplug! I can never seem to do it completely, simply because I always have this nagging feeling that I’m missing out on something, but I do try to limit the time I spend on the computer, and take lots of breaks to go do other stuff. And I’ve been thinking about going self-hosted myself, but I have noooo idea how to do it and I’m still trying to figure it all out. It doesn’t seem too bad though, so definitely go for it!

  3. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    It is really a good thing to unplug from time to time 🙂 I also unplugged a bit during the last couple of days. I just wrote a blog post, checked e-mails and then enjoyed the day. Reading books, painting, piano playing, talking with family and friends – those are my fave things to do on the weekend and they are better to do without the internet 🙂


Leave a comment