Smoothie Magic and {Not So Much} Muffin Tops

I’m on a smoothie roll!

Lately I just can’t go a morning without them. This morning I probably had one of my favorite ones yet and all it took was that one magical 1/2 tablespoon of peanut flour.

Peanut Butter-Chocolate-Rainer Cherry Smoothie

  • 3/4 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • a couple frozen rainer cherries
  • 9 ice cubes
  • 1 serving chocolate protein powder (I use true vitality)
  • 1/2 T peanut flour
  • 1/8 t xanthan gum

I’m also on a baking roll. (Successful bakes are a whole other topic ;))

Every once in a while I catch the baking bug and it comes down to how much time and motivation I have.

Time was on my side the other day and I was craving muffin tops so I got baking.

Remember that really flat looking thing I had yesterday morning?

I’ve come to the conclusion that I need a muffin top pan.

That way my muffin tops can look like this…

rather than this…

It’s a sad looking thing, isn’t it?

I had a brilliant plan to use an ice cream scoop to scoop out little mounds so that they would miraculously bake into fluffy little muffin tops.

Couldn’t have been more wrong. As usual.

Apparently runny batter spreads when baked. I’m sure the whole world knew that. Yet I thought for some reason mine wouldn’t.

But’s its all good, because in the end all baked goods taste the same whether they’re flat, puffy, or in muffin form.

And these turned out pretty tasty.

{Not So Much} Chocolate Muffin Top

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup oat bran (or 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour if you don’t like the crunch of oat bran)
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup chocolate protein powder
  • 1/4 cup sucanat
  • 2.5 T chia seeds
  • 1/4 t sea salt
  • 2 T dark cocoa powder
  • 1.5 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 2 egg whites
*Mix all wet ingredients in a small bowl.
*Pour wet into dry and stir to combine.
*Place bowl in refrigerator for 10 mins.
*Meanwhile, preheat oven to 35o degrees.
* After 10 mins, scoop mixture out with ice cream scoop into whatever pan floats your boat :)
*My muffin took about 17-20 mins to bake while my {flat} muffin top took 10 mins. 

These are best stored in the refrigerator or freezer. They’re just as great eaten straight out of the fridge, which I’ve been doing. Literally.

I don’t know how many times I catch myself standing in front of the fridge eating who knows what with the door ajar. I guess it’s a win-win. I get extra AC plus my hunger is satiated ;)

What’s your favorite muffin flavor? - If I HAD to choose, I’d say I love a good classic blueberry muffin.

8 Comments on “Smoothie Magic and {Not So Much} Muffin Tops”

  1. Smoothies are the love of my life right now. Well, smoothies and oats, and chocolate, and almond butter, and… you get the picture ;) I can’t have peanut flour, but I tried adding coconut flour to my smoothies once and it was… interesting. For now I think I’ll stick to silken tofu and chia seeds. And when it comes to muffins, don’t call me a granny, but I really like cinnamon raisin bran muffins :shock: Of course, every muffin is amazing simply by virtue of being a muffin, but those are near and dear to my heart :D

    • kris says:

      Is there such thing as almond flour? Well I know there is, but almond flour that works the same as peanut flour where you just add water and it becomes creamy? But i guess then that would just be the same as almond butter? Ok am I confusing enough?…I should stop now…

      I love silken tofu in smoothies! It makes it so creamy :) And if loving cinnamon raisin bran muffins make you a granny then I’m a granny too because they.are.delicious!

  2. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Thnak for the recipe, seems pretty good! :) And I love how that smoothie looks – almost like a peanut butter pudding :) My fave muffins are cocoa and raisin. I think that muffins just need to have raisins in them :)

    • kris says:

      Thanks Lenna :)
      I don’t think I’ve ever had a cocoa and raisin muffin, but it sure does sound delicious! I love the sweetness that raisins add to muffins. So yummy :P

  3. Hi Kris :)
    First time I visit your blog, and I really like it! Love your attitude to foods!
    Your smoothie sounds so good and creamy! Ive started to use ful-fat coconut milk in mine- and they get so so cramy and yummy!
    Its been a while since Ive baked muffins, but I used to make some awesome blueberry muffins years back! I think they are my favorit :)
    Have a lovely day!

    • kris says:

      Thanks Ragnhild! :)
      I actually just visited your blog recently and I have to say I really like it too! :)
      I’ve never tried coconut milk in my smoothies but it sounds wonderful. and so creamyy! I’ll have to try it one of these days.
      Hope you had a great weekend!

  4. My favorite muffins usually tend to be banana nut or pumpkin spice. I’m always a sucker for pumpkin flavored anything actually…

    Your muffin tops look good! I’ve been craving more baked goods lately, maybe I’ll give em a shot :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.