WIAW #2

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!

A big thank you to our lovely hostess with the mostest, Jenn over at Peas and Crayons for making this happen!

Peas and Crayons

I’m not really sure what happened between my 1st WIAW post and this one, my second. But I’m sure glad to be joining in on all the fun again :)

Breakfast:

Pre-workout:

{NOT SO MUCH} Chocolate Muffin Top

I know, I know. What the heck is that?? Apparently it’s not a muffin top. But it’s delicious.

Post-workout:

Chocolate Nectarine Protein Smoothie

 Blended up a serving of chocolate protein powder with some frozen nectarines, 9 ice cubes, and 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk. You’d be surprised how well chocolate and nectarine go together.

Rounded out with a big mug of toasted green tea.

Snack:

Chocolate Protein Muffin

I am loving this book btw!

Lunch:

A {veggie} burger the size of my head!

Almost. It was more along the lines of the size of my glass of iced green tea.

SO good! and messy…

Ezekiel sprouted english muffin, Amy’s Texas Veggie Burger, lettuce, basil pesto, heirloom tomato, & egg white.

Lunch Dessert:

Golden Kiwis

Which I totally owned.

I’ll be sad when they’re out of season.

Dinner:

Came together rather quickly tonight.

As much as I would have been content with (and really wanted to have) just a bowl of cereal, I figured I should probably eat some sort of vegetable.

I had picked up some ginger-orange beets and roasted balsamic tofu from whole foods a little earlier so I just added some cucumbers from home along with another Amy’s Texas Veggie Burger and called it dinner.

These Amy’s Texas Veggie burgers are amazing! I’ve gone through the whole box (four burgers total) in just two days. And I’ve already bought another box. New favorite :)

Dinner Dessert:

Sweet Yellow Nectarine

I’ll be sad when these are out of season too.

I’ve been eyeing a new box of blueberry muffin tops I have sitting in my freezer so that’ll most likely be dessert #2 :P

How long does it usually take for you to prepare a meal? - I haven’t been putting too much effort lately and been taking under 10 mins for all my meals which is actually a bit surprising to me since they’re all pretty tasty.

What’s the best thing you ate Wednesday?  - Those Amy’s Texas burgers for sure! They’re bbq flavor and so perfect for summer.

What summer fruits will you miss the most?

9 Comments on “WIAW #2”

  1. Chocolate and nectarines. Huh. I always wondered about that one, especially when I get cravings for both at the same time, but I’ve never tried it. Good to know that it’s a good one :D And I want that burger that you had for lunch! I have all the ingredients too, so it just might happen. Err. Except I think my English muffins might be the cinnamon raisin ones, so I’m not sure how well that would fly lol. I haven’t been spending a lot of time in the kitchen lately, either. I find that I’m more willing to cook elaborate meals when it’s colder out, but in the summer I just want to be in and out and eat. 15 mins? 20 tops? I guess it depends on whether or not I’m cooking a longer cooking grain. Annnnddd I’m going to miss berries the most when summer is gone :( I’ve been eating my weight in them all season long, and I might just have to freeze some to get me through the cold months.

    • kris says:

      I love cinnamon raisin english muffins! I’d totally still make burgers with them ;) Adds a nice subtle sweetness!
      Thats a great idea! I might need to freeze some berries too. I can’t stand how they taste like cardboard during the winter months. It’ll be nice to have sweet ones waiting for me in the freezer :)

  2. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Preparing meals usually takes me 10 to 15 minutes, anything longer is usually not worth it :) That´s because I am always already pretty hungry when I start cooking, so I need my meals to be ready very quickly.
    I love thath book, Sarah´s Key. And the movie based on the book wasn´t too bad either.
    I am going to miss berries and all the stone fruit. And fresh plums. Or all fruit in general. When it is in season it always tastes much better.

  3. Those veggie burgers do look good! And I love how delicately and perfectly you ate your kiwi ;)

    I have been eating really quick meals lately. I can’t remember the last time I spent more than 15 minutes on dinner! Granted, this past Sunday I spent maybe an hour total, making a sauce and some veggie burgers to last me a week so I could “grab and go.”

    I will definitely miss berries most – strawberries and blueberries, namely!

    • kris says:

      haha thanks ;)
      I think I need to start doing that. Pre-make things so that I don’t have to go out and buy it. Homemade veggie burgers are always the best! :)
      I always miss strawberries! :(

  4. Kalli and Bill says:

    oh my goodness all of your food looks fabulous! i am intrigued by your muffin top though…..what is it? did you make it? YUM!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.