Beating the Heat

I think today is our 38th consecutive day of triple degree weather and according to weather.com, it’s not ending anytime soon. At least not within the next 10 days…

So all I’ve been thinking about lately is how to beat the heat.

Lots of smoothies, iced teas and coffees, and water consumed lately. Gotta stay hydrated!

And now that I finally have ice (!), I tried a new [iced] roasted green tea.

Perfectly refreshing. You know what else is refreshing and a great way to beat the heat?

Popsicles!

And you know what’s better than popsicles?

Homemade popsicles.

Two days ago I received this gift for my birthday…

Obviously, I absolutely loved it! I mean, who doesn’t love popsicles?? :)

It required 24 hours in the freezer before use so I waited patiently all throughout yesterday and was more than ready to make some pops today.

Today I just pour in my flavor and fillings of choice…

And bam! In under 10 mins I got these tasty pops.

Apparently this pop maker works best with natural liquids and fillers which is perfect since I like to keep things less sweet and more natural. I chose to make mine with orange juice, almond milk, chocolate almond milk, yogurt, and fresh fruit.

Since it was my first time making these pops I kept it pretty simple with some faux fudgesicles.

And faux orange creamsicles

The outside is just orange juice and the filling inside is plain yogurt mixed with a splash or two of almond milk.

This zoku pop maker has to be one of the easiest ways to make a quick, refreshing, and healthy treat!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to finish off this creamy chocolaty pop before the heat gets to it first.

What’s your favorite popsicle flavor?

What flavor popsicle would you create?


8 Comments on “Beating the Heat”

  1. !! That’s CRAZY heat. Our temps up here in The Great White North (aka: Canada) don’t usually go higher than mid 80′s, and then I feel like I’m dying… so I have no idea how people live when it’s even hotter than that. Eep. But popsicles are definitely a great way to beat the heat, and that Zoku maker sounds great! I’d love to be able to make my own creamsicles (used to be obsessed with those!) or, oooooo… the ones with the vanilla ice cream covered in a thin chocolate layer. Can it do those too? If it can then I’d pick it up in a heartbeat. Those were always my favorite!

    • kris says:

      Honestly, actual creamsicles are still better ;) but the zoku makes a good alternative. Omg if this thing could make those vanilla ice cream covered with chocolate pops I think i’d be pumping out popsicles every day! hehe Unfortunately, it can’t really make anything ice creamy :( It’s more fruit based..

  2. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    Those popsicles look amazing, I would like to make some :) Looks like a very creative work :)
    Roasted green tea sounds interesting, I have a thing for green tea. I used to drink more than 2 litres a day, now am trying to be a bit more reasonable and I drink two or three cups a day :)

    • kris says:

      Wow 2 litres? I don’t think I would’ve been able to sit still even after 2 cups hehe. I’m a bit caffeine sensitive. Green tea is really good for you though! so drink up! :)

  3. all of your popsicle combos look SO good!! i want to “play!” haha.

    and i cannot. imagine. that kind of heat. i complain when it’s in the 90s for a couple of days! it makes me wonder…what is cold for you guys?!

    • kris says:

      thanks! :)
      we usually consider cold in the 30′s and 40′s, i guess? It’s big news for us whenever it freezes or snows. Which actually happens at least once every winter. But it always amuses me how terribly everyone handles it here. We literally close schools and work when theres the slightest bit of ice. We texans can’t handle ice…;)

  4. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    An instant popsicle maker, are you kidding me?! Add that to the “Things I didn’t know I needed” list! :P


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.