No Rest for The Weary

Just in case you were wondering…I’m still alive! It’s been a while since my last post hasn’t it?

I spent the majority of the past couple days studying for finals and I’m ecstatic to say I’m officially DONE. Now I get a 2 week break before the fall semester starts up.

I took my last final yesterday afternoon and have been on the go since. After my final I headed home for lunch and a quick sesh with Jillian. I had just enough time to get in a workout before going to the airport to drop someone off.

This is a perfect workout when you’re short on time. It’s quick and you can make it as hard or as easy as you want.Less than 30 mins later I was drenched in sweat. I’m not sure if my house was too warm or if her workout was just that tough. Probably a combination of the both.

So after Jillian kicked my butt, I headed to the airport. Speaking of airports…Is anyone else fascinated by how airplanes work? As I was leaving the airport to head home an airplane flew right over me on the highway and landed on the runway to my right. I don’t know what it is, but I have this weird interest in watching them take off and land.

Anyways moving on…

I quickly showered after I got home so I could head out to meet up with some good friends of mine whom I’ve known since middle school! I’m always guaranteed a fun time when I see them :) We had dinner at one of my favorite restaurants and then headed to…karaoke!

Needless to say, last night was a fun night! A great end to a full week of studying.

This morning started out the same as every other morning this past week. A big bowl filled with one Barbara’s shredded wheat, natures path heritage flakes, and fresh raspberries, blueberries, and diced white nectarine.

I kinda wish it was this:

or this:

But I wanted something quick and easy so cereal it was. Still delicious though!

I was a little more ambitious when it came to lunch. I actually went foraging for basil outside and broke out the food processor

to make this basil pesto.

I spread it on one half of my Ezekiel sprouted english muffin and topped the other half with an egg white flower sprinkled with pepper.

It may have been a bit messy, but that pesto made the sandwich. I love how creamy it was since it was made with navy beans in place of olive oil. Plus I’m a sucker for anything with basil in it.

And now you’re alllll caught up with me and my eats whether you wanted to be or not ;)

So what am I going to be doing with my two free weeks? Well this week I’m just going to take it easy and do whatever I please and then next week I’ll be heading to a place more tropical. I need to get away from this heat!

I’ve got something fun in store for tomorrow thanks to my friend Christi (hiii!), but until then I have a date with a vacuum and some cleaning staples because I’ve got some serious cleaning to do. I won’t rest easy until I get it all done!

Enjoy the remainder of your Sundays! :)

Any karaoke fans out there? – I’m as tone deaf as can be, but it definitely doesn’t stop me from belting out some old school songs. Thats part of the fun I guess ;)

Do you like homemade pesto? – This was actually my first time making pesto at home and I loved it!

9 Comments on “No Rest for The Weary”

  1. I was watching LOST today and now I’m afraid of flying! Haha ;)

  2. Lenna (veganlenna) says:

    I have always been fascinated by airplanes. Reallym how can something THAT big and heavy just fly through the air? :))
    I like that Jillian´s DVD, it is not my fave, but it gives you a nice sweat :)
    That egg white flower is pretty creative! :)

  3. I love that egg flower! Omigosh neatest thing ever. I’m a big fan of karaoke AND airplanes. I’ll use any excuse I can to sing, dance, and have a good time :D And the thought of something that heavy flying is just… insane. The only part I don’t like about it is there’s nothing to do on long flights… and I always end up feeling extremely bloated and all that other pleasant stuff. As for pesto, I’ve never actually had any. When it comes to all of that Italian stuff, I love tomato based sauces the most, although I suppose I should give it a try to compare.

    • kris says:

      haha thanks! :)
      I hate long flights+turbulence. It freaks me out! and the bloating gets me too! I always wondered if it had anything to do with the pressure and being up high in the air.
      mmm, I love tomato based sauces…you have me craving spaghetti

  4. Anyone ever mention something to you that you hadn’t thought about in a while, then all of a sudden it’s EVERYWHERE? That would be pesto for me, so thanks for bringing it up! I totally have to try my hand at vegan version, the oh she glows one does look really, really good…

  5. [...] sprouted english muffin, Amy’s Texas Veggie Burger, lettuce, basil pesto, heirloom tomato, & egg [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.